UCC Library: Business Information Systems: Journals and Databases

Journals and E-journals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

Browse 'Management' or Computer Science journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

The key Business Information Systems databases are:

Business Databases

ABI Inform covers management theory, management techniques, human resource management, information systems ,business, business trends,

Business Source Complete covers management, accounting, marketing, human resources , finance

Business Abstracts w Full Text covers marketing, management and all business subjects

Emerald covers a broad range of management topics including information systems

Computer Science Databases

ACM Digital Library Full text collection of every article published by ACM, including over 50 years of archives and The Guide to Computing Literature - Bibliographic collection from major publishers in computing with over 750,000 entries

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) provides a single source of almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature. Access is given to journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)

Multidisciplinary databases

The databases below contain useful articles related to business, information systems and computer science

Web of Science, Science Direct, JSTOR , Academic Search Complete

See the full list of databases available at UCC Library.

If you need help using any of these databases please contact your Liaison Librarian at v.conrick@ucc.ie

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
covers management theory, management techniques, human resource management, information systems ,business, business trends,
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of every article published by ACM, including over 50 years of archives and The Guide to Computing Literature - Bibliographic collection from major publishers in computing with over 750,000 entries
Excluded from licence: ACM Career Centre, ACM Professional Development Centre and Computing Reviews. Personalised services such as TOC alerts, binders and email forwarding are not available.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
covers management, accounting, marketing, human resources , finance
Business Source Complete does not contain comprehensive company financial reports but it is still a good source of company information.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
covers a broad range of management topics including information system
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) provides a single source of almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering and computer science literature. Access is given to journals, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)
Content is available from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the Ireland Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XII Collections, the Life Sciences Collection and the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Management Theory