This guide aims to provide information on key resources for Archaeology in University College Cork Library.The tabs at the top of the page will help you find books, e-books, journals, databases,theses, and useful websites.
See links below for the Archaeology Department's own website, as well as a direct link to the Department's guide to writing essays and specific guidelines for referencing for UCC Archaeology students.
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important schorlarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: Ireland Collection, Arts and Sciences I to XI, and the Life Sciences Collection.
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to
offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
This resource provides access to the full text of over 650 journal titles.
These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Special Collections in UCC Library
Special Collections: Important collections of rare & older material. Collections with useful material for Archaeology:
- Celtic Archaeology: Arbois de Jubainville and Torna
- Maritime Archaeology: John De Courcy Ireland Collection
- Classical Period: Transmissions & Transformations of the Ancient World
- Guide to using the Ordnance Survey maps
[e-book] Woodland in the Neolithic of Northern Europe: the forest as ancestor explores how human-environment relations altered with the beginnings of farming, and how the Neolithic in northern Europe was made possible through new ways of living in and understanding the environment. Drawing on a broad range of evidence, from pollen data and stone axes to the remains of timber monuments and settlements, the book analyzes the relationship between people, their material culture, and their woodland environment.