Skip to main content

Archives: Copying Materials

Reprographics

Reprographics includes photocopies, printouts, digital images  and scans. Reprographics may occur depending on the size, format and condition of the material. Reprographics may not be permitted if an item is too fragile. 

Users can bring their own cameras (no flash photography is permitted) to take images of material, as permitted under Copyright Law, for purposes of private study, at no cost. Use of mobile phone and tablet cameras is permitted. A Reprographic Application form must be completed for each item copied. Staff can explain this process on the day of your visit. Consent of UCC Library is required for any other use, including publication (printed or online).

There are no self-service photocopiers or scanners available for any user of Archives. Archives' staff do photocopying and scanning to provide the best care of the collection.  Photocopying and photographic reproduction services are available at a cost. This is determined by volume of material and type of reproduction method used.

Reprographics Application Forms

If images are taken by the user for private study/own use, then a reprographics application form needs to be completed for each item copied. The forms for private study/own use depend on the nature of the source material:

  • Unpublished Material for Research/Private Study 
  • Published Material for Research/Private Study 

If images taken by the user for publication, then a reprographics application form needs to be completed for each item copied. The forms for publication depend on the nature of the source material:

  • Unpublished Material for Publication
  • Published Material for Publication

In addition if reprographics are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought from the Archivist.

The forms are available from the Archivist and when completed must be returned to the Archivist. 

Citation / Referencing

If Archival material is being used in a publication then it must be cited. 

Publications include but are not limited to:

  • Blogs and websites
  • Journal articles & conference proceedings (web / hardcopy)
  • Books (web / hardcopy)
  • Audio material for example podcasts
  • Television programming
  • Presentations
  • Lectures
  • Television
  • Exhibition

The preferred method of citation is: Collection code, Item code, Box number Item's details

Example: BL/EP/G/100, Grehan Estate Papers, UCC Library Archives Service. Letter dated 21 May 1901, Box 12, Grehan Estate Papers, UCC Library Archives Service
 

Permission to use the material must be sought from the Library Archivist.