UCC Library: Medicine and Health Sciences: Help & Training

How the UCC Library can help

The library can assist you with systematic reviews. We can help in the design and management of systematic, comprehensive searches in multiple databases.

We can support you with:

Developing and managing search strategies.

Please allow adequate time for completion of the reviews and search strategies. Please also complete the Cochrane Interactive Learning Modules prior to making an appointment with the librarian - see: Cochrane Interactive Learning

Training and Supports

The Library can provide advice, support and training on:

Scoping literature searches for review protocols
Developing search strategies
Database selection
Identifying grey literature
Setting up search alerts
Reporting search methodology

Guides and manuals to assist with your systematic review

Campbell Collaboration Guidelines for producing a Campbell Systematic Review. The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions.
Cochrane Collaboration Handbook The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official document that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions. This is Version 5.1.0 of the Handbook; last edited March 20, 2011.
Qualitative Research Guide Online resources to aid in conducting, finding, using, synthesizing, and teaching qualitative research in health sciences.
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews (IOM) IOM's (2011) standards address the entire systematic review process, from locating, screening, and selecting studies for the review, to synthesizing the findings and assessing the overall quality of the body of evidence, to producing the final review report. Includes a link to the IOM Standards for Systematic Reviews.
Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews (AHRQ) This guide was developed to improve the transparency, consistency, and scientific rigor of those working on Comparative Effectiveness Reviews.
Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA Statement) The aim of the PRISMA Statement is to help authors improve the reporting of systematic reviews and meta-analyses. The focus of PRISMA is randomized trials, but it can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
Systematic Reviews: CRD’s Guidance for Undertaking Reviews in Health Care Provides practical guidance for undertaking evidence synthesis based on a thorough understanding of systematic review methodology. Presents core principles of systematic reviews and highlights issues that are specific to reviews of clinical tests, public health interventions, adverse effects, and economic evaluations. The final chapter discusses incorporation of qualitative research in or alongside effectiveness reviews.

Other useful resources

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews and Interventions
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Comprehensive searching for systematic reviews: a comparison of database performance - CRD
Conducting a systematic review - University of Nottingham
Finding studies for systematic reviews: a resource list for researchers - CRD
Forest plots: interpretation - UCL
PRISMA - Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
Reviewing the results of systematic reviews - CRD
Systematic reviews: CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care

Systematic Reviews - Tutorials

Some excellent tutorials on Systematic Reviews and how to use them.

Searching Systematically Searching Systematically is part of the All Aboard national project that aims to empower learners, teachers, and anyone who uses technology to support their work, their study, or other aspects of living in a digital age. It offers a suite of digital skills in the form of a metro map
Systematic Review - Edinburgh University
Systematic Reviews - Home - Duke University
Systematic Reviews - Steps - Duke University

Useful resources

PRISMA
Preferred Reporting Items of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Review of Interventions
The Cocharane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions (the Handbook) provides guidance to authors for the preparation of Cochrane Intervention reviews (including Cochrane Overviews of reviews).

Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions by edited by Julian P.T. Higgins and Sally Green
Call Number: HS 610.72 HIGG
ISBN: 9780470699515
Publication Date: 2008

Cochrane Interactive Learning This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Interactive Learning is a series of high quality, online learning modules for conducting intervention reviews following Cochrane review methodology.

If you have not already done so, you will need to create a Cochrane account and register for use of the modules. Any queries relating to registration, please contact LibraryResources@ucc.ie
UCC subscription to this resource expires on 02/04/2025.