Skip to main content
Contemporary Monologues for Women
[e-book] Fifty speeches for women, all written since the year 2000. Playwrights featured include Mike Bartlett, Alexi Kaye Campbell, Caryl Churchill, Helen Edmundson, debbie tucker green, Ella Hickson, Lucy Kirkwood, Rona Munro, Joanna Murray-Smith and Enda Walsh. The editor gives an introduction including the vital information you need to place the piece in context (the who, what, when, where and why) and suggestions about how to perform the scene to its maximum effect (including the character's objectives and keywords). It also features an introduction on the whole process of selecting and preparing your speech, and approaching the audition itself.
Using your Student Card in UCC Library
Drama & Theatre Studies Department
News from UCC Drama & Theatre Studies
Key Library Resources for Drama & Theatre Studies
Early 17th Century Drama
UCC Library has access to 19 collections in the Early 17th Century Drama series within Oxford Scholarly Editions Online, in addition to all of Shakespeare’s plays. These 19 collections comprise the complete works of Ben Jonson, Philip Massinger and Sir John Suckling.
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 340,000 works of poetry, 6,000 works of Drama, 2,250 works of prose as well as over 400 journals.
William Shakespeare - OSEO
Full text access is available to all of Shakespeare’s plays within Oxford Scholarly Editions Online, in addition to 19 titles in the Early 17th Century Drama series.
Special Collections in UCC Library
Important collections of rare & older material. Collections relating to Drama & Theatre studies include:
• 16th – 19th century: Older Printed Books. This collection includes individual and collected editions of John Lyly, Ben Jonson, John Webster, Christopher Marlowe and Shakespeare. Do a subject search for ‘English drama -- Early modern and Elizabethan’ to find out more.
• Anglo-Irish Literature and Culture: Daniel Corkery, Gerald Goldberg and Nancy McCarthy
• Book history & design: Friedlander Collection, Cuala, Dolmen and Three Candles Presses
To discover how these items can be used in assignments & research read Dr Edel Semple’s blog post on Shakespeare’s Sources.
See also the Guide for Special Collections
Copyright © 2013 Boole Library, University College Cork, College Road, Cork, Ireland. Tel. +353 21 4902292, Fax: +353 21 4273428.