UCC Library: Early and Medieval Irish: Books & eBooks

Early & Medieval Irish Books at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the Dewey Decimal system to arrange its books by subject. Doing a keyword search in the Library Catalogue should help you find books of relevance. For example:

• 390 Folklore

• 491 Irish Language

• 891 Irish literature

You can also browse Irish language books or Irish literature books.

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

eBooks

You can choose to search for ebooks only on the eJournals & eBooks Portal

It is also possible to keyword search eBook databases. E-book databases relevant for Celtic Studies include:

Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO is a research collection of titles from 1470-1700, with over 146,000 titles, including original page images.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 200,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 2,900 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
UCC Library has full text access to over 800 books, from different subject areas, in this resource.

Reference Sources

Online language dictionary:

Online biographical dictionaries include:

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Oxford DNB includes over 60,000 biographies of people who shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
An authoritative reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. It tells the island’s life story through the biographies, at home and overseas, of prominent men and women born in Ireland, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Open Access from 2021

New Items

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.