UCC Library: Education: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage.

Browse Education journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

Top multidisciplinary databases to search

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of all subscribed and complimentary databases available via EBSCO. To search within a single database, click the database name. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.

The key education databases are:

Australian Education Index This link opens in a new window
The Australian Education Index is a comprehensive collection of educational research documents relating to educational trends, policy, and practices.
Coverage: 1977 - current
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK.
Its sources include over 300 education and training journals, mostly published in the UK, plus an array of other material including books, reports, series and conference papers. There is a small selection of non-English language material.

ERIC
ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the Ireland Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XII Collections, the Life Sciences Collection and the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection.
Teachers TV from Education in Video This link opens in a new window
This collection includes hundreds of in-classroom videos on key teaching topics and themes from the most respected education publishers worldwide. Only the free content is available to UCC users.

Web Resources

National Forum for Enhancement of Teachng & Learning in HE
The National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education is the national body responsible for leading and advising on the enhancement of teaching and learning in Irish higher education.

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities refer to the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.