UCC Library: Food and Nutritional Science: Data & Statistics

Databases & Open Access Websites providing Statistical Information

Central Statistics Office
The CSO has the responsibility of collection, compilation, extraction and dissemination for statistical purposes of information relating to economic, social and general activities and conditions in Ireland. The CSO is also responsible for coordinating the official statistics of other public authorities and for developing the statistical potential of administrative records.
COnnecting REpositories - CORE
CORE is an aggregated service. It's mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
CORA
The Cork Open Research Archive, from University College Cork gives you free open access to UCC's scholarly and scientific research publications and theses.
Data-Planet
This is a libguide. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 35 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. The over 4.9 billion datasets in Data-Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. Changed to HTTPS from 1st Oct2017. Requires log-in. May be commercial.
Discipline Based Data Archives (List)
A list of Data Archives by disciplines maintained by the Univ of Minnesota.
Economic & Social Research Institute
The ESRI produces research that contributes to understanding economic and social change in the new international context and that informs public policymaking and civil society in Ireland.
EuroStat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
FairSharing
A curated, informative and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies.
NIH Supported Data Repositories (USA)
This table lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network.
more...less...
Also included are resources that aggregate information about biomedical data and information sharing systems. The table can be sorted according by name and by NIH Institute or Center and may be searched using keywords so that you can find repositories more relevant to your data. Links are provided to information about submitting data to and accessing data from the listed repositories.
QUT
Queensland University of Technology ePrints is an institutional repository of eprints which showcases some of the research output of QUT staff and postgraduate students.
more...less...
The papers deposited in QUT ePrints are freely available. This open access ensures the widest possible dissemination and impact for our work and contributes to the growing body of research literature that is now freely available online.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
more...less...
It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
UIS profiles and global datasets on the subjects of education, literacy, culture and communication, and science and technology, plus reports generated from these resources.
United Nations Statistics Division
The UN Statistics Division is committed to the advancement of the global statistical system.
more...less...
It compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. It also facilitates the coordination of international statistical activities and supports the functioning of the United Nations Statistical Commission as the apex entity of the global statistical system.
Zanran
Zanran Searches the web for data and statistics which locates data in charts, graphs and tables (beta version).

Subject specific Research & Data Repositories

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR)
TAIR collects information and maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant.
Food Data Central
FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.
OpenFoodTox
OpenFoodTox provides open source data for the substance characterisation, the links to EFSA’s related output, background European legislation, and a summary of the critical toxicological endpoints and reference values.
International Network of Food Data Systems (INFOODS)
INFOODS is a worldwide network of food composition experts aiming to improve the quality, availability, reliability and use of food composition data.
Food Composition Databases
The purpose of EuroFIR is to develop, publish and exploit food composition information, and promote international cooperation and harmonisation of standards to improve data quality, storage and access. Please check if your organisation is a member of EuroFIR to access the database.
FoodRisk
The aim of FoodRisk.org is to assist professionals involved with the many aspects of risk analysis as it pertains to the safety of our food.On FoodRisk.org you will find unique datasets, tutorials, tools, and links to numerous sources of information.
Resources on Nutrition
Nutrition plays a key role in nearly every public health concern in the United States and abroad. If you are a public health professional, these free online resources can serve as useful tools for your research. This is a blog site.

Subject Guide

Mary Keane

Email Me

Contact:

Library Systems and Support Service,
UCC Library, University College Cork.

+353 (21) 490-3444

Food and Nutritional Science: Data & Statistics

Databases & Open Access Websites providing Statistical Information

Subject specific Research & Data Repositories

Subject Guide

Organisations and Institutions