UCC Library: Food Business and Development: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

How to Find a Harvard Business Review

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

Browse journals to get an idea of what is available.

See: Assignment Essentials

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

The key Food Business and Development databases are below:

Multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science, Science Direct, JSTOR, Academic Search Complete and Emerald also cover the topic.

For company information, market research and case studies see tabs above.

If you need help using any of these databases please contact your Liaison Librarian at v.conrick@ucc.ie

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full text content, giving researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content, including Marketline Reports. It also contains SWOT analyses.
Business Source Complete does not contain comprehensive company financial reports but it is still a good source of company information.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight combines full text journals with management reviews through an integrated search and navigation system, providing access to over 400 authoritative titles, 76% of which are peer-reviewed. For the 2022/24 academic years over 3,500 eBooks titles are also available, covering Business, Management, Economics and Social Sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the Ireland Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XII Collections, the Life Sciences Collection and the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.