UCC Library: History: Local Interest

E-books of local interest

The I. R. A. and Its Enemies:Violence and Community in Cork, 1916-1923 by Peter Hart
ISBN: 9780191513381
Publication Date: 1998
What is it like to be in the I.R.A. - or at their mercy? This fascinating study explores the lives and deaths of the enemies and victims of the County Cork I.R.A. between 1916 and 1923 - the most powerful and deadly branch of the I.R.A. during one of the most turbulent periods in twentieth-century Ireland.
Blackpool to the Front by Mark Cronin
ISBN: 9781848898356
Publication Date: 2014
Blackpool to the Front was a rallying cry first heard at the Battle of Etreux in August 1914 when the Royal Munster Fusiliers halted an entire German Army Corps.

Freke estate Survey 1787

CELT Estate Map
[Digitised] Freke Estate (Cork) Survey of 1787/88 by Thomas Sherrard

Viking Cork

Viking Cork: A Case Study in Objects and Text
From UCC Library's River-side blog - a guest post by Liam O'Driscoll, a UCC MA History student

Anthony Barry Photographic Archive

Anthony Barry Photographic Archive
The photographic archive of former Lord Mayor Anthony Barry (b1901-d1983), the father of Peter Barry T.D., is a unique collection of photographs taken in person and with great skill by Barry, comprising mainly street scapes, capturing Cork of the 1960s and 1970s, including Merchant’s Quay, Patrick Street, and the Coal Quay. Barry has a keen eye for the subject matter at hand: his city and his people.

Photos from the National Library of Ireland

National Library of Ireland
digital collection of prints and drawings as well as their photograph collection from 1860

Evacuation of Spike Island: This is British Army Lance-Corporal Lewis James Thomas and his family leaving Cobh. The family presumably returned to England. Sunday, 10 July 1938, NLI Ref.: IND_H_3281

RTE Documentaries

Why the guns remained silent in Rebel Cork:Part 1
A Short Documentary produced for RTE's Townland Series, examining why there was no uprising in Cork in 1916
Why the guns remained silent in Rebel Cork:Part 2
A Short Documentary produced for RTE's Townland Series, examining why there was no uprising in Cork in 1916
Early Doors, No More!
On the night of Monday the 12 December 1955, the opera house in Cork was destroyed by fire. A calamitous event in itself, the destruction of the Old Opera house affected the people on an emotional level as well. The burning is equivocated in the minds of Cork people with that of the assassination of John F Kennedy -every one remembers where they were on that wet and stormy winter's night.

British Pathe

British Pathé - search for Cork
British Pathe reported on news from around the British Empire

Workhouse Drawing Collection from UCD Library

Workhouse drawing collection
This online collection provides access to drawings and documents relating to the Mallow, Castleblayney, Lismore, and Gorey workhouses. The drawings for Mallow Workhouse may be considered a representative set of the surviving drawings for the Tudor style workhouses built by Wilkinson.

Local Libraries & Archives

Cork City Libraries - Cork Past and Present
maps, photographs, prints, books, journals and more on the history, genealogy and culture of Cork.
Cork 1918
Cork City Libraries virtual exhibition (PDF)
Famine in Cork City
Cork City Libraries virtual exhibition (PDF)
When Cork Drove Fords
Cork City Libraries virtual exhibition [PDF]
Complete list of Cork City Libraries virtual exhibitions
Cork County Library
Local Studies Digital Library
Cork City & County Archives
The Cork City and County Archives (CCCA) was the first local government archives service established in Ireland and it remains one of the largest such services in Ireland. We are a shared service which is equally funded by each of its parent institutions, Cork City Council, Cork County Council and University College Cork.

Book from Cork City & County Archives - Voices of the Many: local archives from Cork 1914-16

Journal of the Cork Historical and Archaeological Sociey

JCHAS Digital Archive

Burning of Cork

Hidden History RTE series 2005 documentary by Conal Creedon

On the night of December 11th 1920, Cork city was to experience an unimaginable night of terror and destruction at the hands of the British forces of law and order. Large tracts of the city were destroyed by fire including the residential area of Dillon’s Cross and the commercial heart of the city centre. South of the river, incendiaries also leveled the administrative centre at the City Hall and the Carnegie Library.

Byrnes Dictionary of Irish Local History : From Earliest Times to C. 1900 [E-book]

Byrne's Dictionary of Irish Local History by Joseph Byrne
ISBN: 9781856358002
Publication Date: 2014
A one-stop resource for all local historians. This dictionary brings together, for the first time, in a single volume, an extensive range of key local history terminology from earliest times to 1900.