Images: Free web resources

Explore how images and photos (greyscale and colour) can be represented digitally, and discover a range of techniques to enhance images. The man file types and their advantages and disadvantages will also be explained and you will gain an understanding of practical issues regarding file size, compression, and preparing images for printing and display.

This collection of images is from The Sourcebook of Medical Illustration (The Parthenon Publishing Group, P. Cull, ed., 1989). The images are “copyright-free as long as they are used for educational purposes.”

contains text and image records on a wide range of topics in the life sciences. The Biodiversity Heritage Library Flickr pages includes some excellent images.

aims to collect geographically representative photographs and information for every square kilometre of Great Britain and Ireland under Creative Commons licence.

are from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Here you’ll find image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.

from the Genomic Science program and other U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) programs. Also includes archived images from the Human Genome Project and Microbial Genomics.

A catalogue of images from the Center for Disease Control. Use by public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public for reference, teaching and presentations is encouraged.

This is a collection of 3000 free colour medical images, licensed for use under a CC-BY licence.

One of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

As well as an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, the World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS) provides images of marine life. Images are by default open-access under the terms of the CC BY-NC-SA license, unless stated otherwise.

from Rawpixel aims to photograph people from every nation in the world.

Free for personal and commercial use. In an effort to combat the issue of diversity and inclusion within media and marketing, Shopify held internal photo shoots to create high quality images of a diverse group of ethnicities and genders in the workplace

Stock Photos Beyond the Binary. From Broadly

provides beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people and makes it easy to be purposeful about representation in designs and presentations

A set of tech-focussed images focusing on BAME (black, Asian and minority ethnic) protagonists – licence for re-use is Creative Commons Attribution (you can use them as long as you attribute UKBlackTech or www.ukblacktech.com

Women of Color in Tech - visible representations of women of color engaging in technical tasks in stock images

Canva helps you design a whole range of publicity - posters, presentations, social media. You can go straight into the PHOTOS section and search for photos - restrict to 'free'. Huge range of photos available.

Online photo management and sharing application. Choose from range of copyright licences.

Stock photos free (CC0 licence) for use for personal and even commercial purposes.

quirky collection of high-resolution free stock images, comprised of the world’s best, most creative pictures. All completely free of copyright restrictions.

Thousands of Free High-Resolution CC0 (no attribution required) Photos and Videos. Search or browse by collection.

Library of Congress has been acquiring photos since the mid-1800s when photography was the hot new technology. Because images represent life and the world so vividly, people have long enjoyed exploring the visual collections.
Although the Library of Congress does not grant or deny permission to use photos, the Library knows of no copyright restrictions on the publication, distribution, or re-use of these photos. Privacy rights may apply. Rights statements with further information relating to sets of images provided so far are available on the website.

Although the Library of Congress does not grant or deny permission to use photos, the Library knows of no copyright restrictions on the publication, distribution, or re-use of these photos. Privacy rights may apply. Rights statements with further information relating to sets of images provided so far are available on the website. For personal, non-commercial use only

Vintage photos from the Public Archives, free from known copyright restrictions.

Hundreds of thousands free stock photos with new high resolution photos added every day. All photos are hand-picked from photos uploaded by our users or sourced from free image websites.

High-resolution, free photos that you can use however you like with the free license. Search or browse by category.

offers nearly half a million free images and videos for both personal and commercial use. All images on the site are royalty-free and covered under Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, which means they can be modified and used commercially online and in print.

Free images, art works etc. You can filter by type of image, public domain etc.

All photos on StockSnap have been released under Creative Commons - CC0. This license allows you to download, copy, modify, and distribute the photos, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission

Over 300,000 free (do whatever you want) high-resolution photos brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.

Choose images option. a collection of 53,011,692 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Check the licence details for your chosen image - it gives you details on how to cite, if required.

Allows you to create posters, slideshows etc using Flickr images

To help you download all of the images in your document in just a few clicks. By Melanie Pinola (Zapier)

Upload a photo and have it converted to text

Create animated videos and presentations

Free software for making presentations

from Hootsuite

From Lifewire (Tech Untangled) Here is a collection of just a few of the best sites for finding images online. Please read the fine print before using images from any of these image search engines or image search sites. Different photos and sites have different usage licenses, which can possibly restrict your use of their image.

by Ned Potter

A basic, and simple means of getting images that can be reproduced without having to get copyright clearance, is to change the Settings so that only images labelled ‘free to use’ are searched for (you can also search by ‘free to use and modify’ and there’s a further setting for commercial use). These would catch the Creative Commons images automatically. [See Copyright for Images tab]

The other major factor is ‘Image Size’ – you’re going to need at least a ‘medium-sized’ image (i.e. around 800 x 600 pixels) for illustration purposes. ‘Image Size’ comes under ‘Tools’. If you intend to use the image online a resolution of around 96 dpi is sufficient. Publication print quality is 300 dpi, though for an illustration to an essay you’d probably get away with less than 200 dpi.

Use this to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives, including photographs and cultural works.

Reverse image search

article by Jeff Hayden, of Inc. Provides a link to 29 sites compiled by Chelsea Blacker of Bluegrass UK

Create a simple webpage

This page features items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.

Search by category, or upload or create your own.

Icons for everything, available free under a Creative Commons licence - as long as you attribute the original creator - very simple to search and use.

This ongoing project compiles patterns shared by the most talented designers for you to use freely in your designs.

PresentationGO offers 800+ free PowerPoint templates for your presentations: backgrounds, diagrams, maps... Downloads are 100% FREE: no registration, no social share needed. High-quality editable graphics, easily customizable to your needs.

offers copyright-free vector images in popular .eps, .svg, .ai and .cdr formats.To the extent possible under law, uploaders on this site have waived all copyright to their vector images. You are free to edit, distribute and use the images for unlimited commercial purposes without asking permission

UCC's Marketing and Communications department for anyone producing UCC branded material.