UCC Library: Linguistics: Books & eBooks

Contemporary world fiction: a guide to literature in translation [E-book]

Contemporary World Fiction by Keren Dali; Juris Dilevko; Glenda Garbutt
ISBN: 9781598849097
Publication Date: 2011
This much-needed guide to translated literature offers readers the opportunity to hear from, learn about, and perhaps better understand our shrinking world from the perspective of insiders from many cultures and traditions. * Over 1,000 annotated contemporary world fiction titles, featuring author's name; title; translator; publisher and place of publication; genre/literary style/story type; an annotation; related works by the author; subject keywords; and original language * 9 introductory overviews about classic world fiction titles * Extensive bibliographical essays about fiction traditions in other countries * 5 indexes: annotated authors, annotated titles, translators, nations, and subjects/keywords

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

Books for Linguistics at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. The main numbers of interest for Linguistics are:

400 Language
410 Linguistics

Additionally, individual languages can be found from 420-490

E-books

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the e-book, example:

It is also possible to do a keyword search e-book databases. E-book databases relevant for Linguistics include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This resource is an online collection of over 5,700 books of high quality in the Humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB was launched in September 2002.
Cascadilla Proceedings This link opens in a new window
This resource provides online access to all proceedings published by Cascadilla Proceedings Project.
To include a paper from this site in course materials requires permission from either the author/publisher or both.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 9 million articles from over 20,000 journals.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 200,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 2,900 of the titles available on Ebook Central.

Language Science Press [Open Access]
publishes high quality, peer-reviewed open-access books in linguistics. All publications are free for both authors and readers.

Online Reference Works

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles.

Concise encyclopedia of brain and language [e-book]
edited by Harry A. Whitaker. Elsevier, c2010
Oxford Reference Online: Linguistics
Access is available to the following titles through this:
- Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
- Dictionary Plus Linguistics

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

As well as reference works on Linguistics, Oxford Reference has bilingual dictionaries (18 titles) and language reference books (16 titles). Choose your subject specialties to limit your search to those areas only.

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts.