UCC Library: Linguistics: Journals & Databases

Finding Journals & E-journals

Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal

Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals

Journals

Applied Linguistics
Applied Linguistics publishes research into language with relevance to real-world problems. The journal is keen to help make connections between fields, theories, research methods, and scholarly discourses, and welcomes contributions which critically reflect on current practices in applied linguistic research. It promotes scholarly and scientific discussion of issues that unite or divide scholars in applied linguistics

Target: International Journal of Translation Studies
The journal presents research on various forms of translation and interpreting approached from historical, cultural, literary, sociological, linguistic, cognitive, philosophical, or other viewpoints that may be of relevance to the development of the discipline. [Available online]

Babel
Babel is a scholarly journal designed primarily for translators, interpreters and terminologists (T&I), yet of interest also for non-specialists concerned with current issues and events in the field. The scope of Babel is intentional and embraces a multitude of disciplines built on the following pillars: T&I theory, practice, pedagogy, technology, history, sociology, and terminology management. Another important segment of this journal includes articles on the development and evolution of the T&I professions: new disciplines, growth, recognition, Codes of Ethics, protection, and prospects.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'journal' or 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Teanga: The Irish Journal of Applied Linguistics

Teanga : The Irish Journal of Applied Linguistics
in print from 1981-present
Online access to Teanga
available for Vols 1-5 and from Vol. 24 onwards

Databases to Start With:

Databases help you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are a good starting-point for a literature search for your research topic:

Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE and other resources.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature and summaries dating back to the 1600s. This resource is renowned for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records, with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Association and contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information across a wide variety of scholarly publications in the behavioural and social sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 170 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

OneSearch

OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:

Library Catalogue
Journals
Databases
Books, eBooks
Newspaper articles
Theses
Open Access resources

Information on how to use OneSearch

OneSearch Guide for Users
Information from Ex Libris on their Summon product (known as OneSearch in UCC Library)

Advanced Search Tips for OneSearch
Tips on how to make the best use of OneSearch

Quick Search

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Central authoritative resource for North American theses with significant European content. This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. To note, this database also includes the most comprehensive available record of doctoral theses from the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I: The Arts