UCC Library: Medieval Studies: Getting Started

Spotlight On

St Fin Barre's Cathedral Library: Oldest Book

Aquinas, Thomas. Incipiu[n]t preclarissima opuscula diui Thome aquinatis sacri ordinis p[re]dicato[rum] in quibus o[mn]is ph[ilosophi]e [&] diuina[rum] scriptura[rum] theoremata est co[m]plexus. [Venice: Hermann Lichtenstein, 1497].

This is not the oldest book in the library! There are two books both published in 1476 which have this honour:
Bruni, Leonardo. [Historia del popolo fiorentino]. [Vinegia (Venice) : Iacomo de Rossi]
Bracciolini, Poggio. [Historia fiorentina]. [Vinegia (Venice) : Jacopo de Rossi]

Medieval Studies at UCC

Medieval Studies in UCC may be studied with a number of departments and schools.

Contact:

Dept. of Early & Medieval Irish for research on Ireland in that time period.
School of English for research on Early & Medieval English.
School of History for research on Early & Medieval Europe.

Medieval Studies in Ireland

FMRSI (Forum for Medieval & Renaissance Studies in Ireland) a virtual community of scholars who are located throughout Ireland. 'Medieval and Renaissance' covers 4th – early 17th centuries CE/AD in all parts of the world.

Details on the website include:

Online journal Óenach: JFMRSI
Review section (Óenach: FMRSI Reviews).
List of members and links to FMRSI profile pages
List of locations of members and the funded research projects
List of events and activities (lectures, talks, conferences, colloquia, workshops, exhibitions, concerts, performances of all sorts, launches, new publications, assorted notices and announcements) in Ireland and abroad

Introduction Medieval Studies at UCC Library

This guide brings together key resources for the study of Medieval Studies at University College Cork. Use the tabs above to find:

Books & eBooks: Medieval Studies' collections at UCC Library; how to find books
Journals, Newspapers & Theses
Databases: articles & more for your assignments & research
Special Collections
Free Web Sources: recommended sources freely available on the web
Referencing: organising your sources

Key Resources for Medieval Studies

Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
This resource provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

CELT is an online database bringing the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to the Internet. It is an Open Access database produced and hosted by UCC.

Dictionary of Old English: Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
The resource is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text.
Early English Laws This link opens in a new window
Early English Laws is a project to publish online and in print new editions and translations of all English legal codes, edicts, and treatises produced up to the time of Magna Carta 1215.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO is a research collection of titles from 1470-1700, with over 146,000 titles, including original page images.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c.400-1500) providing a comprehensive and current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide.

Special Collections Librarian

Elaine Harrington
Special Collections, UCC Library, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland.

+353 (21) 490-3484

e.harrington@ucc.ie

Special Collections Opening Hours

Medieval Studies: Getting Started