Skip to main content

Special Collections' Outreach & Engagement: Digital Collections

How Special Collections interacts with the world.

Henebry / O'Neill Wax Cylinder Collection

UCC's Wax Cylinder Collection consists of a series of cylinders, American in origin, recorded by Captain Francis O’Neill in Chicago prior to 1905.  The cylinders, sent to Professor Henebry as a birthday present in 1907, consist of recordings of some of the best known Chicago-Irish musicians of the day, including the pipers Patsy Touhey and James Early and the fiddle player James McFadden. Additionally in the collection is a series of cylinders which Henebry recorded as part of a scheme funded in 1911.  Almost all of this collection was made in the Déise region of Waterford, and as such comprises the earliest field recordings of Irish traditional music and singing.

Click here to listen to the recordings on the Henebry/ O'Neill website. 

ISOS: Irish Script on Screen

The objective of Irish Script on Screen (ISOS) is to create digital images of Irish manuscripts, and to make these images, together with relevant commentary, available online.

UCC Library is delighted to be able to participate in the ISOS Project and in doing so to contribute to the objectives of ISOS in providing electronic access some of our most important heritage collections. We look forward to continuing to make additional Gaelic manuscripts available to academic communities and the general public via ISOS into the future.

Special Collections, UCC Library holds a number of distinct collections of Gaelic Manuscripts. The largest of these, the Torna Collection (111 MSS), formed the collection of Prof. Tadhg Ó Donnchadha (Torna), Prof. of Irish at UCC (1916-1944). This collection came into the possession of UCC following the death of Torna in 1949 and has been catalogued by Prof. Pádraig de Brún in Clár Lamhscríbhinní Gaeilge Choláiste Ollscoile Chorcaí: Cnuasach Thorna (1967).

Seventy-seven manuscripts formed the collection of Professor James E.H. Murphy, Professor of Irish at Trinity College Dublin (1896-1919). A catalogue of this collection has been compiled by Dr Breandán Ó Conchuir: Clár Lamhscríbhinní Gaeilge Choláiste Ollscoile Chorcai: Cnuasach Uí Mhurchú (1991).

Most of the remaining manuscripts belonged to Canon Patrick Power, Lecturer in and later Prof. of Archaeology at University College Cork (1915-1932).

Highlights from the UCC Collection include a version of Geoffrey Keating’s Foras Feasa ar Éirinn in a 17th-century hand (Ls 92). 

Ls 92 is a 17th century paper manuscript. This map of Ireland is bound in between f123 and f124.  

Caption: Ls 92 f.[123a]r 

Opening Hours

We are open Monday to Friday with core times of 10:00-16:45. The library website has semester and holiday opening hours.