Skip to main content

Special Collections' Subject Support: Home

How Special Collections can help you with your research, teaching, learning & assignments.

Selected for President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2016/17

Listen to Dr Malgorzata D'Aughton (School of History) & Dr Jillian Rogers (Dept. of Music) discussing their selection for a President's Award for Excellence in Teaching 2016/2017, specifically for innovative pedagogies and embedding research in the curriculum. They were particularly keen to point out the role that their collaboration with UCC Library plays in their teaching and research.

Subject Support for our Collections

We, in Special Collections, have a dual role, not only to facilitate current research but also to care and conserve these unique and distinctive materials for future users. Go to the Special Collections' guide to learn about searching for Special Collections' material and using it. 

Special Collections staff members work with students and faculty to support learning and teaching at UCC offering access to unique primary sources and the reference sources that support them through instruction sessions and exhibitions. 

Students can click on the relevant tab to learn more about useful collections and sources for that subject area. You are always welcome to contact us if you have a question. 

Staff who'd like to book a session in Special Collections can fill in the booking formYou are always welcome to contact me for an informal chat about potential teaching sessions.

Why Use Special Collections?

Items from the collections can be used to support group teaching and we encourage members of staff to contact us to organise classes using such material. Special Collections Services staff can assist in teaching classes by providing an introduction to Special Collections' services and the collections as well as providing guidance on finding and requesting material for study. 

Using our collections:

  • Helps develop a clear understanding of the role of original material in research
  • Increases students' knowledge in locating primary resources in UCC's Library's collections and elsewhere
  • Gives students unique insight into their subject and the possibility of original research opportunities, and brings teaching and learning to life for both academics and students

Special Collections staff are also happy to meet with teaching staff to help develop assignments or modules based on our collections.

Special Collections Librarian

Elaine Harrington's picture
Elaine Harrington
Contact:
Special Collections, UCC Library, University College Cork, Cork, Ireland
+353 (21) 490-3484
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

Contact Special Collections

Special Collections, Q-1,
Boole Library
University College Cork
Cork
+353 (21) 490-2282 

specialcollections@ucc.ie

Please use the Special Collections' dedicated email and phone number above:

  • To request books, theses and more
  • To reserve a machine for using microform
  • Queries about the collections

Opening Hours

We are open Monday to Friday with core times of 10:00-16:45. The library website has semester and holiday opening hours.