Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Anne James Photographic Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/P/J
Title:                            Anne James Photographic Collection
Dates:                           1966
Level of description:    Collection
Extent:                          77 negatives & 3 contact sheets
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/P/J is the Anne James Photographic collection held in UCC Library. The Collection was gifted to UCC Library from Anne James (Photographer) in October 2012.
 
Biographical History:
Anne James worked in the television industry for many years and during the filming of programmes she took photographs on set. She worked for the BBC from 1945 joining as a shorthand typist and retired from there as a respected director in 1983.
 

Content: 

The collection contains 77 negatives and 3 contact sheets of black & white images of Seán Ó Riada taken by Anne James in 1966 when she was working with the director Peter Luke on a film for the seminal BBC arts series 'Monitor' on the Irish composer Seán Ó Riada.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Series description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Related Material: Seán Ó Riada Collection/Baillúcháin Sheáin Uí Riada (UCC Library Archives Service)

Copyright: UCC Library. Photographic credit/acknowledgement to Anne James (donor of the collection).

Collection Image

      Seán Ó Riada (Photographer: Anne James)