Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Major RHW Hingston Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:              BL/VC/RGWH
Title:                             Major RHW Hingston Collection 
Dates:                             [1913-1930]
Level of description:     Item
Extent:                           67 photographs and postcards
 
Administrative History:
The collection was purchased at auction on behalf of the archive by Mr Cronan O'Diobhlin, Head of Research Collections. 
 
Biographical History:
Major Richard William George Hingston MC FRGS (17 January 1887 – 5 August 1966) was an Irish physician, explorer and naturalist who worked in India with the Indian Medical Service. 

Content:

This collection consists of postcards and photographs taken during Hingston's deployment on the Indian Sub-Contenient, and during his role as the Expedition Doctor to the 1924 Mount Everest Expedition.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Descriptive list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library. 

Collection Image