Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Archives Service: Archival Collections: How to Plan A Visit

Special Collections & Archives Appointments

You can now request an appointment with our Special Collections & Archives Service

Submit a request here and we'll will get back to you as soon as possible with an available slot.

Click here to make a Request

Accessing Special Collections & Archives

We want to make your visit as enjoyable, productive and safe as possible. To do that, we’ll need to work together.  We would especially ask you to follow all the public health advice, and not to come to Special Collections & Archives if you’re feeling unwell.

All appointments are subject to University guidelines. Library users will not be granted access to the library if they are not wearing a suitable face covering (unless they can provide an acceptable reason as outlined in the regulation). See here for further information about the library's reopening policies.

Keeping everyone in our buildings safe is our first priority, so there will be some changes to how you access and use our services. We apologise in advance for any delays and trust you will understand. We look forward to seeing you from 20 July.

Face-to-face services at Special Collections & Archives will resume in a limited capacity from 20 July 2020. Please note that we will have reduced capacity due to social distancing measures, and access will be by advance appointment onlyOnce it is safe to do so opening hours and capacity will be extended.

Please read the following carefully:

  • Requests for appointments should be made at least 1 week in advance so that the material can be prepared.
  • We cannot accommodate group bookings at this time.
  • Same-day requests will not be possible. 
  • Appointments will be subject to availability of spaces in our Reading Room
  • Opening hours are Monday-Friday 10:00 - 12:45.
  • You can order up to 25 archival collection items (descriptive entries) per visit. Items may be requested in one application. 
  • The contact details you provide will be used for Contact Tracing purposes and kept for 1 month.

Hand sanitiser and wipes will be available, and there will be protective screens at the public counters.

The items you ordered will be waiting for you at your pre-allocated workspace. You can leave these on the desk when you are finished with them. Items will be quarantined for 72 hours between users. Please note items you may request may not available for this reason.

Please note that your appointment is not guaranteed until you receive a confirmation email from Special Collections & Archives.

Please request items by completing this online form.

Facilities in UCC Library Archives

                
All archival manuscript material is
 viewed here in the Rare Books Reading Room.

Requesting Material

All material is for consultation only and cannot be removed from UCC Library Archives or borrowed from the Library. 

The relevant descriptive list for a collection should be consulted first. All items within a collection will have a specific call number located along the left hand side of the pages of a descriptive list. These entries will be in numerical order.

Please note the call number(s) of the item(s) you wish to see and contact UCC Library Archives Service for an appointment. Item(s) may only be viewed if there is email confirmation of your appointment.

 

Using A Descriptive List

See relevant Tab above "What are Descriptive Lists"