Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

UCC Library News

UCC Library Services During COVID Level 5

by Paul Davidson on 2020-10-23T09:18:00+01:00 | Comments

As clarified by Minister Simon Harris, Universities have been categorised as essential services in support of research in the Level 5 framework for Living with COVID. Under the current Level 5 restrictions, “scheduled access to libraries and other onsite study space for those students who do not otherwise have suitable facilities or home environment to access learning remotely” is permitted, regardless of the 5km travel restrictions.

Therefore, physical UCC Library buildings will remain open as follows:

Boole Library

Open Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm. Seat Pre-booking essential.

Quad Reading Room

Open Monday-Thursday, 9am-8pm, Friday, 9am-5pm, Saturday/Sunday, 1-8pm. Seats limited, and pre-booking essential.

Brookfield Health Sciences Libraries

Open Monday-Thursday, 9am-8pm, Friday/Saturday/Sunday, 9am-5pm. Seats limited, and pre-booking essential.

As the library continues to offer a limited number of seats, pre-booking is essential for all study areas of the library. To book a library seat, please visit the library website: https://libguides.ucc.ie/seat_booking.

In an effort to balance the needs of our library users with the wellbeing and safety of our library staff, the range of library services in operation under Level 5 will be continually reviewed. Access to Printers, PCs, shelf-browsing, item borrowing and return (self-service) are all available. Newer services such as Scan & Deliver and Click & Collect will remain at this time. Previous appointment services in Special Collections and Archives are suspended during Level 5, but the Scan & Deliver service includes requests for items from Special Collections’ material, including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and Closed Access. Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material are also available. In order to facilitate research queries, a virtual appointment service for Special Collections and Archives will shortly be established and details will be forthcoming. For queries, please contact specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. Under Level 5 restrictions, the library is not available to the general public or non-UCC affiliates.

General and other enquiries to library should be made through our online Ask Us Chat service on the library website, by email to Library@ucc.ie or via our Ticketing and Information Service.

 

The continued operation of library services during Level 5 is dependent on all library staff who have continued to show dedication and commitment to excellent library services during this difficult time.

Colette McKenna

Director of Library Services,

UCC Library.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...