UCC Library News - UCC Library at University College Cork

Dear Students and Staff,

I’m writing to remind you of the Library Services and Collections that are available remotely to all UCC Staff and Students during the University closure.

Access to OneSearch, the library catalogue, CORA and other web-based interfaces are all accessible from the library website for users conducting online research. All online library collections such as electronic journals, electronic books and online databases are accessible remotely via the library website for UCC affiliates: https://libguides.ucc.ie/library.

From Friday March 13th, borrowing and returning of, or access to, physical collections in main lending, high demand and restricted access will not be possible. Library users will be able to renew items already on loan by logging in to their Library Account, detailed at: https://libguides.ucc.ie/libraryessentials/mylibraryaccount. Any borrowed items due back before March 29th will automatically be assigned a new return due date for when the University reopens, and no fines will be incurred during the University closure. Interlibrary loan requests will still be processed during University closure, however, items will only be available for collection upon reopening.

There is a limited library staff service available online and remotely. The Library’s Ask Us knowledge base is accessible remotely at https://askus.booleweb.ucc.ie. The library’s Online Ask Us Live Chat support service from the library website is available during regular business hours Monday – Friday, 10am-5pm (March 17th excepted). You can also contact the library via email at library@ucc.ie The library will continue to monitor any queries and communications. Consultation services from various library service points (Liaison Librarians, Archives and Special Collections, Research Data Services, CORA) will be available remotely.

The library will continue to monitor the range of services it can provide remotely, and will review this throughout the course of the closure. For updates on the status of library services during University closure, please continue to visit http://libguides.ucc.ie.

Best regards,
Colette McKenna
Director of Library Services

UCC wishes to appoint an experienced administrator to the role of Head of Research Services. Reporting to the Director of Library Services, the Head of Research Services - Library will lead the UCC Library Research Services team in developing and delivering a range of innovative services in support of robust, reproducible, and open research practices.

This new portfolio is designed to meet the rapidly developing and increasingly complex needs of researchers operating in a digital research and scholarship environment. It is intricately connected to the University’s strategic goals to strengthen UCC’s research impact, and the role holder will directly support University-level initiatives in this area.

The role holder will become the chief authority in the University on Open Science and by developing expertise in all aspects of OS will lead on the adoption of best practice in all research-related activity.

This is a great opportunity to grow and develop an amazing team

Closing Date: 24 February 2021. Details and Application at http://ore.ucc.ie

UCC Library, as a member of the IReL consortium, has helped to secure numerous open access agreements with academic publishers. These Transformative Agreements typically allow corresponding authors from eligible institutions (including UCC) to publish their articles open access immediately on publication at no extra cost. For a full list of current agreements (including approximately 10,000 journals), and information on how to avail of them, please consult our new guide: https://libguides.ucc.ie/OAagreements/home

1. Check UCC Library's OneSearch. We have thousands of eJournals and eBooks available for use 24/7. Many publishers have allowed free or improved access to eBooks at this time. A full listing is available on the eBooks listing and is being updated as new resources are added.

2. Search the Internet Archive for digitised , largely 19th century publications. Hathi Trust or Gutenberg Project can also help.

3. Search the National Emergency Library to borrow any of the 1.5 million digitised 20th century books. Sign up for an account and 'borrow' up to 10 books for 14 days.

4. Try Google Books and Google Scholar . Make sure you are logged in with your UCC credentials as , if the book is there , you will have greater access to the resources.

5. If the book is based on someone's PhD thesis, it's worth checking that institution's institutional repository to find an uploaded version. There may also be copies forwarded to RIAN - Ireland's research repository.

6. If the book is based on someone's PhD thesis and they did their PhD in the UK , check EThOS where there might be full text or not.

7. Depending on how old the item is an online version may be available on Europeana, DPLA (US), Gallica (France), DDB(Germany), e-rara (Switzerland). These all hold digitised versions of books , but usually not 20th / 21st century.

8. It can be worth adding the book title and researchgate / academia into a Google Search box as sometimes the author has uploaded part of a book to their academic profile. If this is the case then you can contact the author themselves once the URL has been identified.

9. Sometimes database versions of books exist e.g. Loeb series.

10. If the item is in any way general rather than academic it can be worth checking BorrowBox with the public libraries. BorrowBox can be used on a smartphone / tablet / computer. If you don't have a public library account one can be set up immediately online.

Remote access to Library Services and Collections during the University closure

Similar Posts