Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives' Outreach & Engagement: Exhibitions

How Special Collections & Archives interacts with the world.

Publish and Be Damned – Cork Zine Archive 1975 – 2005 (5 July - September 2019)

Publish and Be Damned is an exhibition of zines and independent magazines published in Cork by various groups from 1975 until 2005, or from 1975 until the dawn of digital and social media. Publish and Be Damned will launch at 17:00 Friday 8 July with special guest Jim O’Mahony (Belsonic Sound) and a DJ set from John Byrne (Quare Groove) playing Cork records from the era. The exhibition will run until September 2019.

Cork Zine Archive are on social media:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter as @corkzinearchive and the hashtag is #CorkZineArchive. 

Fanning Sessions have compiled a two hour mixtape of demos and sessions by 36 Cork artists that have featured on the Fanning Sessions site over the last 10 years.

Exhibitions are on Q floor of the Boole Library and are open during the hours of the library. Check the website for semester and holiday opening hours. 

Guide to Exhibitions

Over the last ten years there have been exhibitions on Q floor of the Boole Library with all Colleges in UCC. These either have been exhibitions curated by departments and schools or exhibitions created in collaboration with UCC Library.

The exhibition space is available for three or six month periods and exhibitions can start in January / April / July / October. 

Included in each booking time is mounting and dismounting the exhibition. 

As a guide the schedule is booked up to two years in advance.

Heritage Week - Matters French: An Online Exhibition

            
Credit: Caussin, Nicolas. The Holy Court, in five books. Trans. Thomas Hawkins. Corke: Printed and sold by Eugene Swiney, 1767.

Matters French offers an overview of some of the connections between Ireland & France from the Anglo-Normans to Beckett. These interconnected traditions are represented in UCC Library's collections. Since the Anglo-Norman conquest Ireland has witnessed contacts with France that straddled confessional & political divisions. Irish scholars & intellectuals took refuge in Paris & Louvain, where Irish-language materials could be printed & where French was to become a medium of antiquarian & historical research that took Ireland as its object. Huguenot exiles arriving in Ireland created new French-speaking communities. Ireland looked to Revolutionary France in its quest for independence.

Heritage Week - Matters French: an online exhibition is curated by Prof. Patrick O'DonovanDept. of French, UCC. For further information about Matters French see the introduction to the exhibition.

Opening Hours

Special Collections and Archives Service have standardised their opening hours as follows:

From 9 September - 20 December 2019:

Microform & Reference Reading Room: Monday & Tuesday, Thursday & Friday 11:00 – 16:30; Wednesday 11:00 – 20:15.

Rare Books Reading Room: Monday – Friday 11:00 – 13:00 and 14:00 – 16:30. 
 
Closed: 28 October 2019.