Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Special Collections: Make An Appointment: Work Space and Items

Special Collections is home to manuscripts, older printed books and unique & distinct collections.

Special Collections & Archives Appointments

You can now request an appointment with our Special Collections & Archives Service

Submit a request here and we'll will get back to you as soon as possible with an available slot.

Click here to make a Request

Using Special Collections

Accessing & Requesting Special Collections' Items

Face-to-face services at Special Collections & Archives have resumed in a limited capacity. Please note that we have reduced capacity due to social distancing measures, and access is by appointment only. 

All appointments are subject to University guidelines. Library users will not be granted access to the library if they are not wearing a suitable face covering (unless they can provide an acceptable reason as outlined in the regulation). Please wear a face covering at all times when in the Library. See here for further information about the library's reopening policies.

We would especially ask you to follow all the public health advice, and not to come to Special Collections & Archives if you’re feeling unwell. If you are:

  • a UCC student or staff member please see here.
  • visiting from outside Ireland please ensure you have completed the required 14 day self-isolation prior to visiting our service. For further information please see here.

The contact details you provide will be used for Contact Tracing purposes and kept for 1 month.

Please read the following carefully:

  • Requests for appointments to use any Special Collections items (on the library catalogue: Special Collections by Request, Special Collections by Appointment; and microform, newspapers and manuscripts) should be made at least two business days in advance so that the material can be prepared. Same-day requests will not be possible.

  • If requesting Archives items a request for an appointment should be made at least one week in advance so that the material can be prepared. Same-day requests will not be possible.

  • Opening hours are Monday-Friday 10:00-12:45.
  • There is a limit of 10 Special Collections items items per visit.There is a limit of 25 items from the Archives Service. Microfilm and Archive items may be requested in one application. Special Collection items must be requested individually.
  • We cannot accommodate group bookings at this time.
  • Hand sanitiser and wipes are available, and there are protective screens at the public counters.
  • The items you ordered will be waiting for you at your pre-allocated workspace. You can leave these on the desk when you are finished with them.
  • Items will be quarantined for 72 hours between users. Please note items you may request may not be available for this reason.

Please note that an appointment is not guaranteed until a confirmation email has been received.

Click HERE to make an appointment.

During Your Visit

Bathrooms will be available as usual, with additional hygiene measures in place. However, some facilities will not be available in order to reduce the risk of transmission. These include:

  • Pencils and paper

  • Open Access PCs: if you require online access, please ensure that you bring your own laptop or tablet. Alternatively, staff will be available to search on your behalf, but using your own device is recommended.

  • The book scanner is available. Please bring your own USB key. Please note that copying is subject to copyright, and not all items can be copied.

Searching for Material

The Library Catalogue is a listing of most of the material, both hardcopy and online that the Library holds.

You can search the Library Catalogue from the UCC Library homepage.

Choose your type of search: Keyword (default), Author, Title or Subject  from the buttons above the box.

Using the keyword search, enter words from the title, contents or subject. Click on the search icon or hit enter and browse your results.

Below is an example of a book title showing bibliographic and location details. 

Finding Special Collections in UCC Library

Special Collections is located in Q-1 (basement level) of Boole Library, UCC.

Information for visitors to UCC is found here. The Boole Library is Building 11 on the map below.

Opening Hours

Face-to-face services at Special Collections & Archives have resumed in a limited capacity as of 20 July 2020: Monday-Friday 10-12:45. Please note that we will have reduced capacity due to social distancing measures, and access will be by appointment only. Walk-ins and same-day requests will not be possible. To book items & a workspace please click HERE.

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.

UCC Library's new Scan and Deliver Service is now live! Submit a request and we'll scan a book chapter/journal article and deliver it to you via email. There will be limited access to material from Special Collections. Every effort will be made to fulfill requests but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.