Skip to main content

Accessing other Libraries: UCC Staff

A guide for UCC Staff and Students on gaining access to other libraries.

UCC Staff

Through various cooperative schemes UCC staff can gain access to the Libraries of other third level institutions. 

  • ALCID which allows consultation in all Irish Universities and some other Irish third level institutions.
  • SCONUL Access allows borrowing from participating libraries in the UK and Ireland.
  • CorkPAL is an access scheme between participating libraries in the Cork region.
  • MusicPAL facilitates access to music information and materials available across a broad range of libraries and archives throughout the island of Ireland.

If you want to visit any other library, you may apply to the Library for a Letter of Introduction.

SCONUL Access

SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows UCC Staff to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries in Ireland and the UK which belong to the scheme.

Application Procedure

  • Fill in the online Application Form
  • Once your application is approved, UCC Library will send you a confirmation email.
  • This email can be printed and used as an introduction to any of the libraries in the scheme.
  • You can use the same email to apply to different libraries; you do not have to submit an online application each time you want to join a new host library.
  • Take a copy of your confirmation e-mail with you when you go to the library you want to visit, along with your UCC ID card

Please Note:

  • Take both your SCONUL Access Confirmation email and your UCC ID Card along with you.
  • The Library you are visiting will issue you with a Library Card, which will have the same expiry date as your SCONUL Access Card or local regulations may mean that it will be issued for a lesser period.
  • Check the Catalogue of the Library you are visiting to ensure that they have the material you require.
  • Your Library Account must be clear of fines and overdue items before a SCONUL Access Card can be issued.
  • Before you visit the Library of another institution we advise that you familiarise yourself with any local arrangements. These include, opening hours, rules and regulations, store/depository procedures, procedures for viewing theses, layout of the campus or any other relevant information.
  • If you think you may need specialist help during your visit, it is best to contact the relevant libraries in advance.

When you visit other University Libraries under the SCONUL Access scheme you will be subject to their rules and regulations, which may differ from UCC Library. We recommend that you familiarise yourself with those regulations as any serious infringement of them may result in the imposition of penalties on your UCC Library account.

Please check the UCC Library Catalogue and talk to the Subject Staff to ensure we do not have access to the material you require. Access to material not held in UCC Library can also be gained through Inter Library Loans.

Cork PAL

CorkPAL is a Cork regional reciprocal library access scheme.

It is co-operative venture between libraries in higher education, health, and the public library service in the Cork region. It provides free access to the collective library resources of Cork City and County.

The CorkPAL Access Card tells the staff at the library you are visiting that you are a genuine learner and that your special requirements for knowledge and information cannot be dealt with by your own library.

Your level of access will be determined by the library you are visiting. At a minimum you will be allowed to consult printed materials. Internet and electronic resources cannot normally be used in academic libraries unless you are a student of that organization, due to licence agreements.

Participating Libraries:

  • Cork City
  • Cork County Library & Arts Service
  • Cork City and County Archives
  • Mercy University Hospital
  • Cork University Hospital
  • South Infirmary-Victoria University Hospital
  • University College Cork
  • Cork Institute of Technology

Staff and Students of UCC wishing to avail of this scheme should contact the Library & IT Desk, Q Floor, Boole Library.

Members of other participating libraries wishing to gain access to the UCC Library should contact their home library for details of this scheme.

ALCID

Academic Libraries Co-operating in Ireland (ALCID) , a co-operative scheme between Irish university libraries, allows staff and postgraduate students (Doctoral, Masters by research and by exam) to access other libraries and their collections. These cards are not available to undergraduate and H.Dip. students.

  • An application form is available below.
  • Cards cannot be issued if there are any fines or overdue books on your account.
  • We will issue you with your card, which you will need to sign.
  • Always bring your UCC ID card with you as well when using your ALCID card.
  • Check the opening hours of the library you want to visit on our links to other libraries webpage.

Your ALCID card provides access to these libraries:

  • Dublin City University
  • Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies
  • Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Mary Immaculate College, Limerick
  • Mater Dei Institute
  • National College of Art and Design (NCAD)
  • NUI Galway
  • NUI Maynooth
  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Royal Irish Academy
  • Saint Angela's College, Sligo
  • Saint Patrick's College, Drumcondra, Dublin
  • Trinity College Dublin
  • University College Cork
  • University College Dublin
  • University of Limerick

You can check the opening hours of the library you want to visit.

Music PAL

MusicPAL facilitates access to music information and materials available across a broad range of libraries and archives throughout the island of Ireland. Member libraries work collaboratively to provide easy access to the wealth of music resources held in their collections. UCC Library is a participant.

Further details about the scheme are available on the Music PAL website. 
This includes a list of participating libraries.

If UCC students, researchers or staff would like to access any of the participating libraries, they can apply for a Music PAL card at the Library & IT Desk, Q Floor,  Boole Library.

Most Music PAL collections are now listed on the RASCAL database (Research And Special Collections Available Locally). This database will be the key resource discovery tool for music collections.

Further queries can be addressed to UCC Library’s Music PAL Coordinator: 
Claire O’Brien,  claire.obrien@ucc.ie, tel. +353-21- 490-2984