Skip to main content

For information on remote access to Library Services and Collections during the University closure, please visit this Guide.

Please view a list of temporary additions to our eBook and other online collections.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Academic Video Online delivers more than 64,600 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
Award-winning digital resources spanning the social sciences and humanities from the 15th-21st centuries, developed in collaboration with leading libraries and archives.

Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.

This trial expires on 16 July 2020.
New
Berghahn Journals publishes 38 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities, all of which are freely available until 30 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides access to over 1,100 eTextbooks published by Guilford Publications, McGraw-Hill Education, SAGE Publications, and others.
(Please note that pages are slow to load.)

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
Bloomsbury Collections offers users access to more than 8,000 ebook titles, in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across 22 subject areas.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides UCC users with read-only access to over 1,800 ebooks, covering a broad range of Humanities research areas.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides access to over 18,900 eBooks in the areas of social sciences, law and humanities.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. This resource currently contains over 1,270 volumes.

This trial expires on 23 June 2020.
New
Cambridge Companions is comprised of 712 eBook titles written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

Free access is available until 29 June 2020.
New
704 published HTML textbooks now freely available on Cambridge Core to help students and readers across the world during the pandemic.

Free access is available until 29 June 2020.
New
Cambridge Histories provides full-text access to 405 eBook titles spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Free access is available until 29 June 2020.
New
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers, as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv, and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
New
This resource is the world’s first global research repository to combine both human curation and AI to create a cross-disciplinary resource for everyone working on the COVID-19 pandemic and the SARS-CoV-2 virus.
This repository offers over 70,000 Open Access articles. With human input, overviews of research and recommendations from experts are created, and a way to share problems with other researchers to find novel ways forward from other disciplines.
New
This multimedia resource provides access to over 1,300 scholarly works and practical guides. Categories in the collection include Plays; Playwrights & Practitioners; Context & Criticism; Theatre Craft, and more.

Free access is available until 30 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides UCC Library with full text access to over 180,000 ebooks, in a wide range of subject areas.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides UCC Library with full text access to over 193,000 ebooks, in a wide range of subject areas.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
New
The Elsevier COVID-19 Healthcare Hub offers access to clinical tools and resources, the latest expert insights, guidance from the world’s health authorities and research resources to support healthcare professionals as they care for patients during the pandemic. The hub provides access to 123,000 publications and 238 medical journals.
Trial
This trial provides access to primary and secondary sources including journals, literary criticism and full text literary works, as well as rare primary source content. Cross-search or browse the contents of multiple Gale databases, covering a wide range of subjects.

This trial expires on 31 July 2020.
New
This resource offers access to over 1,660 eBooks to researchers in the Earth Sciences.

These eBook titles are freely available until 30 June 2020.
New
The IEEE eLearning Library is a series of over 480 peer-reviewed and highly interactive online learning courses in engineering and technology.

Free access to this resource expires on 30 June 2020.
New
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.

JSTOR has provided temporary access to 756 additional ejournals until 31 December 2020.
JSTOR has also provided temporary access to over 35,000 ebooks until 30 June 2020.
New
.
The eTextbooks currently available (via Chrome, Firefox and Safari) are as follows:

> Commercial Law - White (https://app.kortext.com/borrow/408124)

> Consumer Behavior: Buying, Having, and Being - Solomon (https://app.kortext.com/borrow/190602)

> Fundamentals of the Irish Legal System - Thornton, Ni Mhuirthile, O'Sullivan (https://app.kortext.com/borrow/408123)

> Land Law - Pearce (https://app.kortext.com/borrow/327572)

> Lyall on Land Law - Howlin, McGrath (https://app.kortext.com/borrow/408146)

> Medicine, Ethics and the Law - Madden (https://app.kortext.com/borrow/320815)

These titles are freely available until 30 June 2020.
Trial
Nineteenth Century Literary Society makes more than 1,400 items from the archive of the historic John Murray publishing company available online. The Murray collection, held by the National Library of Scotland since 2006, comprises one of the world’s most important literary archives.

Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.

This trial expires on 16 July 2020.
Trial
OpenEdition has made 175 Humanities and Social Sciences journals available via its Freemium Collection.

This trial expires on 24 June 2020.
New
Oxford Handbooks Online is one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. UCC has 87 handbooks already purchased. This makes 958 new handbooks available to UCC users.

Free access is available until 6 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides access to the following Law eBook collections:
Oxford Reports on International Law, Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law, Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law, Oxford Historical Treaties and Oxford International Organizations.

This trial expires on 06 June 2020.
New
UCC has 68 scholarly edition eBooks already purchased. This makes 1,428 new scholarly editions available to UCC users, covering drama, poetry and prose.

Free access is available until 6 June 2020.
New
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to 16,936 eBooks from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

Free access is available until 6 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides access to 300 eBooks on all aspects of the Enlightenment, including history, cultural studies, literature, biography, religious studies, philosophy and gender studies.

This trial expires on 21 June 2020.
Trial
Pharmacy Knowledge is a digital learning platform, with content on the platform based on textbooks published by the Pharmaceutical Press, as well commissioned content written by expert pharmacists in their fields.

This trial expires on 25 September 2020.
Trial
This resource provides access to a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

This trial expires on 30 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1909 - 1975

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1849 - 2010

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - 2010

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1841 - 1962

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1872 - 1988

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times. Coverage: 1851 - 2015

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1877 - 2002

This trial expires on 18 June 2020.
Trial
This trial provides UCC users with access to a comprehensive range of SAGE reference works, business cases, video and academic books within the Social Sciences, containing over 5,500 titles.

This trial is available until 30 June 2020.
Trial
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.

This trial is available until 18 June 2020.
Trial
SAGE Video showcases highly relevant educational video across key social science disciplines.

This trial is available until 18 June 2020.
New
The resource provides full-text access to 140 UCC owned eBooks, plus an additional 258 textbooks which have been made freely available by Elsevier until 31 August 2020.
New
A vast and rapidly-expanding online research library providing full-text access to 31,785 eBook titles from around the world, making disparately-published scholarship easily accessible and fully searchable on a single online platform.

Free access is available until 6 June 2020.
New
This resource provides UCC users with access to over 66,000 ebooks, covering a wide range of subjects in the humanities, social sciences, law, medicine and sciences, published between 1658 and 2016.

Free access is available until 30 June 2020.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...