Important Update: Many IReL negotiated APC allocations have/are running out:
Outside of these agreements, UCC has no central fund to support paying individual Article Processing Charges (APCs).
For hybrid journals, authors can continue to make their articles open access using the Green open access model, with no APC charge, subject to the journal’s policy.
To deposit your accepted manuscript in CORA UCC's open access repository, contact the CORA team at cora@ucc.ie
More information available: https://libguides.ucc.ie/OAagreements/home and https://irel.ie/open-access/. Email: libraryapcs@ucc.ie
For queries about Open Access, IReL resources or CORA please contact:
Open access is a broad international movement that seeks to grant free and open online access to academic information, such as publications and data. A publication is defined as 'open access' when there are no financial, legal or technical barriers to accessing it - that is to say when anyone can read, download, copy, distribute, print, search for and search within the information, or use it in education or in any other way within the legal agreements.
Through Open Access publishing, research findings can be communicated at speed freely via the web with no or limited license restrictions, thereby maximising the impact of a scholar's work as the potential readership is much greater than that for publications where the full-text is restricted to subscribers only.
The Library supports Green Open Access publishing via CORA. This Green route involves no costs to researchers and enables you to deposit the final manuscript version of your papers in the CORA repository, where they will be fully accessible online at no cost to the reader.
It is important to remember that most publishers will only permit authors to post the accepted manuscript version of a publication to the repository. The accepted version is the final draft, after peer review, which incorporates any peer review changes, but does not have the publisher's formatting, typesetting or logos.
If you are a UCC researcher, you can send your publication to CORA from your IRIS profile. IRIS is UCC's research profile system. Alternatively, you can email your publication to cora@ucc.ie and we will upload it for you.
See: CORA - Cork Open Research Archive (UCC's Open Access Repository)
Queries: cora@ucc.ie
UCC, via IReL have secured a number of 'Transformative Agreements' with publishers that typically allow corresponding authors from eligible institutions to publish their articles open access immediately on publication. The Article Publishing Charges (APCs) have been prepaid for a large number of articles with a wide range of publishers.
To confirm if your proposed journal is eligible for a funded APC please check the link below or email libraryapcs@ucc.ie.
PLEASE CHECK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION: UCC Open Access Agreements OR EMAIL: libraryapcs@ucc.ie
For more information about any of the agreements and how to avail of IReL funded APCs please contact UCC’s Scholarly Communications Librarian Donna Ó Doibhlin, donna.odoibhlin@ucc.ie or the Open Access Team at libraryapcs@ucc.ie
CORA - UCC's Open Access Repository
Research at THEA - Research@THEA is an open access repository established in 2017 containing research from all the Institutes of Technology.
OpenAIRE - Find over 40m open access publications, open datasets and software from over 18,000 content providers.
Directory of Open Access Journals - An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Directory of Open Access Books - A directory of academic peer-reviewed books from many publishers.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories - Provides access to academic open access repositories from around the world.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) - OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
