Skip to main content
ucc home Study@UCC | Research | Campus Life | Schools & Departments | About UCC | Alumni

Applied Social Studies: Journals and Databases

Library Resources for Applied Social Studies

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal  (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal:  periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

The key Applied Social Studies databases are:

Depending on what you are studying or researching databases from other subject areas may also be useful:

Medical Databases

Further resources from our Top Multidisciplinary databases or see also the full list of databases available at UCC Library.

Google Scholar

When searching Google Scholar from home, log in to your Library Account first, and then search Google Scholar using the search box on the Library's Databases A-Z or use the search box below.

See the guide: Search the Web More Effectively for your Assignments & Research

Short demos:

  • Google Basic Search
  • Google Advanced Search
  • Google Scholar Search

Newspapers

For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

News Sources

  • Irish Newspaper Archive
  • Irish Times Digital Archive
  • Irish Times Online
  • NexisUK

Copyright © 2013 Boole Library, University College Cork, College Road, Cork, Ireland. Tel. +353 21 4902292, Fax: +353 21 4273428. Email: library@ucc.ie