UCC Library: Applied Social Studies: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Top Multidisciplinary Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of all subscribed and complimentary databases available via EBSCO. To search within a single database, click the database name. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

The key databases for Applied Social Studies are:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

ASSIA
more...less...
Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window

SocINDEX

Depending on what you are studying or researching databases from other subject areas may also be useful:

PsychArticles
more...less...
Applied Psychology, Applied Social Studies, Health Science, IReL Databases, Nursing & Midwifery, Sports
PsychINFO
more...less...
Availability of full text: please note that, in some journals databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text for very recent journal issues and older issues may also provide abstracts only.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
more...less...
Availability of full text: please note that, in some journals databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text for very recent journal issues and older issues may also provide abstracts only.

Teachers TV from Education in Video This link opens in a new window
This collection includes hundreds of in-classroom videos on key teaching topics and themes from the most respected education publishers worldwide. Only the free content is available to UCC users.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Availability of full text: please note that there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text to recent journal issues. Older issues may only have abstracts available.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).

Further resources from our Top Multidisciplinary databases or see also the full list of databases available at UCC Library.

Newspapers

For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

News Sources

Irish Newspaper Archive
Irish Times Digital Archive
Irish Times Online
NexisUK

Applied Social Studies: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

What is an Academic Journal?

Top Multidisciplinary Databases

Newspapers

Google Scholar