Skip to main content

Ethel Boole Voynich Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/L/EBV
Title:                            Ethel Boole Voynich Collection
Dates:                           1957 - 2007
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          2 items
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/L/EBV is the Ethel Boole Voynich Collection held in UCC Library donated in 2016.
 
Biographical History:
Ethel Lilian Voynich, née Boole (11 May 1864 – 27 July 1960) was an Irish novelist and musician, and a supporter of several revolutionary causes. She was born in Cork, youngest child of George Boole (Mathematician) and Mary Everest Boole (Mathematician and Educationalist) but grew up in England. Voynich was a significant figure, not only on the late Victorian literary scene, but also in Russian émigré circles. She is best known for her novel The Gadfly, which became hugely popular in her lifetime, especially in Russia. (Reference Source: Wikipedia Ethel Voynich)
 
Séamus Ó Coighligh (12 March 1916 - 14 September 2010) was a Cork-born Irish expert in European languages and literature and former curator of Cork Public Museum. He was a column writer and book reviewer on Russian and Eastern European affairs for The Irish Times newspaper (1959-1972). He encouraged Irish language poet Seán Ó Ríordáin in publishing his poetry and continued to support and offer friendship until Ó Ríordáin's death in 1977. (Reference source and further information from his obituary in The Irish Times)

Content: 

Russian publication on Ethel Boole Voynich by Evgeniya Tarauta and a handwritten copybook of its translation by Seamus Ó Coigligh.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: Russian and English

Related Material:  

Our Friend Ethel Lilian Boole / Voynich by Evgeniya Tarauta, translated from the Russian by Seamus Ó Coigligh, with notes, Cork City Libraries

The Papers of George Boole, UCC Library Archives Service.

George Boole Ancillary Collection, UCC Library Archives Service

The George Boole Papers Digitisation Project, online access to digital copies of the Papers of George Boole held in UCC Library. 

Copyright: UCC Library (in the main). Publications may rest with original copyright holder, please check with Archivist.

Collection Image

"Our Friend Ethel Boole / Voynich" by Evgeniya Tarauta (BL/L/EBV/1)