Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Hurse Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/SC/H
Title:                            Hurse Collection
Dates:                           1923
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          1 item
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/SC/H is original writings by Alfred Edward Hurse held in UCC Library. The item was acquired at Mealy’s Auctioneers, Castlecomer, Co. Kilkenny in 2006. Stamped on the original folder cover is “Dr. Philip G. Lee” – there are letters from Hurse within the folder.
 
Biographical History:
Alfred Edward Hurse (1872 -1929) was a Member of Institute of Civil Engineers (Chartered Civil Engineer) and contributed to the Journal of the Cork Historical & Archeological Society a number of times. His obituary can be found in JCHAS 1929.
 
Content:

The Hurse typescript Monkstown and Passage West, County Cork : some notes, historical, archaeological and otherwise is a draft of the published copy held in Special Collections, UCC Library. The enclosures are letters and research material related to the subject.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Related Material: Published copy can be found in Special Collections

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

  Example of content of the Hurse Collection