UCC Library: RM Butler Architect Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.: IE BL/AR/RMB

Title: RM Butler Architect Collection

Dates: 1916-[1929]

Level of description: Item

Extent: 21 items

Administrative History:

IE BL/AR/RMB is the RM Butler Architect Collection held in UCC Library. This collection was transferred from the office of the late Helen Davis, Assistant Librarian, UCC Library, in [2011].

Biographical History:

Rudolf Maximilian Butler (1872-1943) was an Irish architect, architectural historian, academic, and journalist, best known for his Catholic ecclesiastical work, including the Sacred Heart Church in Castletownbere, St. Colman's Church in Inishbofin, and St. Joseph's Church in Letterfrack. He was also a founding member of the Architectural Association of Ireland, editor of the Irish Builder, and professor of architecture at University College, Dublin.

Content:

The collection contains correspondence, an article, press cuttings, and other items, primarily relating to Butler's research into the English architect James Gandon (1743–1823) whose works include The Custom House, the Four Courts, and King's Inns in Dublin.

Access & Use

Access: Apply via online Request Form during the opening times of Special Collections and Archives

Email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Descriptive list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library (in the main). Publications may rest with original copyright holder, please check with Archivist.

Related Material: The life of James Gandon, Esq. : with original notices of contemporary artists, and fragments of essays (Dublin : Hodges and Smith, 1846). R.M. Butler's copy.

Useful Websites:

Architectural Association of Ireland

Dictionary of Irish Architects 1720 - 1940

Irish Architectural Archive

Collection Image

B&W copy of a portrait of James Gandon, M.R.I.A., F.R.S. [IE BL/AR/RMB/20]