Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Ruth Sherry: Index Cards (Frank O'Connor Bibliography): Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/AR/RS/1
Title:                            Ruth Sherry: Index Cards
Dates:                           [1980s-2000s]
Level of description:    Series
Extent:                          2,450 items
 
Administrative History:

IE BL/AR/RS/1 is part of the Ruth Sherry (Frank O’Connor Bibliography) collection held in UCC Library. The Collection was gifted to UCC Library by the Executors of Ruth Sherry’s Estate in 2008.

Biographical History: The late Ruth Sherry was Professor of English Literature at the Department of Modern Languages, Section for English, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU).

Content: 

The collection contains handwritten index cards, in pencil and ink, created by Ruth Sherry during the course of researching and compiling the definitive bibliography of the writer Frank O’Connor. Professor Sherry passed away before the work was published.

The index cards are arranged as compiled by Professor Sherry. They were originally stored in two wooden index card boxes with dividing tabs with category headings. She organised the cards by type of work e.g. short story or book reviews, or by format in which published e.g. television or radio. The collection is listed reflecting this system of arrangement.

Access & Use

Opening Hours: 10:00 - 12:45 Monday to Friday

Access to archival collections is by prior appointment, giving at least one week's notice in advance, by completing this online form

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Series list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

 An example of an index card from the Ruth Sherry: Index Cards Collection