Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Tomás Ó Muircheartaigh Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/BG/TOM
Title:                            Tomás Ó Muircheartaigh Collection
Dates:                            1923 - 1958 
Level of description:     Item
Extent:                           2 boxes
 
 
Administrative History:

IE BL/BG/TOM are the papers of Tomás Ó Muircheartaigh (1907-1967) generated by him and preserved by his family after his death. These were acquired by UCC Library in 2005.

Biographical History: Tomás Ó Muircheartaigh was born in Dublin on 27th March 1907 of a Kerry father and a Cork mother. Ó Muircheartaigh entered the Civil Service after leaving school to help his mother support the family after his father’s death and worked in the civil service for the rest of his life. He spent most of that time in the Department of Education but also had positions in The Commission on Place Names and the Irish Land Commission. He was president of Conradh na Gaeilge from 1955-1959.  He died on St Patrick’s Day 1967 after a long illness. 

Tomas Ó Muircheartaigh was a seminal figure in Irish cultural life in the period following the establishment of the Irish republic up until the 1960’s. As a leading member of Conradh na Gaeilge he sought to promote and preserve that vision of ‘Irishness’ which he and his contemporaries held dear. A close friend and confidant of Daniel Corkery, they both shared a similar vision of a resurgence of a native cultural tradition based on the Irish language and he worked tirelessly to this end. He was on familiar terms with many of the great Irish artists of his day, both literary and visual including Sean Ó Suileabháin, Sean Keating and Seamus Murphy. A long time editor of such publications as Feasta Ó Muircheartaigh was also a gifted photographer and his photographs often accompanied the articles in Conradh publications.

Content:

The collection is small and a structure has been imposed by the archivist. It begins with administration files belonging to Ó Muircheartaigh relating to his time in the Civil Service and as President of Conradh na Gaeilge. These files contain letters and copies of speeches or addresses he made, as well as his contributions to the magazine Feasta. Also in the collection are scrapbooks of newspaper cuttings of general cultural and literary interest.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Descriptive list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library (in the main). Publications may rest with original copyright holder, please check with Archivist.

Collection Image

     Extract from Ó Muircheartaigh Collection