UCC Library: Adult Continuing Education: Journals & Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage) or you can browse the journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window

Subject Specific Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Its sources include over 300 education and training journals, mostly published in the UK, plus an array of other material including books, reports, series and conference papers. There is a small selection of non-English language material.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Association and contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information across a wide variety of scholarly publications in the behavioural and social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window