Referencing Software

Save hours and avoid citation stress

Stop retyping references or losing track of PDFs. Reference managers like Zotero, EndNote, or Mendeley let you:

• Collect and store references with one click

• Organise sources into folders and tags

• Save and annotate full-text PDFs

• Add citations directly into Word or Google Docs

• Automatically format your bibliography in your chosen style

Import books, articles, and websites, then cite as you write. It’s fast, accurate, and much easier than doing it manually. 

Protect your academic integrity

Good referencing tools help you stay consistent, track your sources, and avoid accidental plagiarism . There’s a short learning curve, but as you incorporate the software into your research and writing process, you will make fewer errors, with less stress.

Collaborate with confidence
Working on a group project? Most tools sync to the cloud, so you can share and cite from the same up-to-date library.

Which tool is right for you?
This guide introduces Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley. Each has its own strengths. Explore what works best for your needs and devices

Note: Most reference managers don’t work well together: it’s best to use one at a time on your computer. E.g., if you’re switching to Zotero or EndNote, you may need to uninstall any other reference manager first.

Already have a library? You can move your references between tools: just search for guides like “export from EndNote to Zotero” for simple, step-by-step help.

Need Help?

Join our Referencing workshops or drop-in sessions: check the Library Events page

Access self-paced training on the Library Canvas page

Ask a question on our Live Chat Ask Us,  

Zotero is an open source, free, easy to use tool that helps you collect, organise, cite and share sources. It supports a wide range of different source types, including journal articles, YouTube videos, webpages, audio files, and PDFs. 

With Zotero as your Research Assistant, you can: 

• Collect sources in a click: add articles, webpages, books or PDFs from any database or catalogue with the browser Connector.

• “Cite while you write”: the Word and Google Docs plug-ins add in-text citations and build reference lists as you type

• Stay organised: file items in collections, add tags for quick retrieval, and keep reading notes beside each source.

• Annotate & highlight PDFs: Zotero’s built-in reader lets you mark-up articles and pull your highlights straight into notes

• Work together: create shared libraries for group projects and automatically keep everyone’s references in sync

Zotero is available for Windows, Mac and Linux. Zotero provides clear documentation on how to use the software. There are also video tutorials including general overviews and specific features

Get Started in 5 Minutes:

1.  Download Zotero desktop (Windows/Mac/Linux) and the Connector for Chrome, Edge, or Firefox.

2. Install and open Zotero – Word/LibreOffice plug-ins install automatically; Google Docs support appears the first time you open Docs.zotero.org

3. Add your first source: Browse to an article and click the Connector icon, or  Drag a PDF onto Zotero — it fetches the full reference for you

4.  Insert citations – in Word/Google Docs choose Zotero/ Add/Edit Citation, pick your style (APA, Harvard, Vancouver, etc.), and go.

5. Create a bibliography – place the cursor where you want it, click Add/Edit Bibliography – done!

6. Explore power features – tags, saved searches, PDF annotations, and ZoteroBib (instant one-off bibliographies) for quick tasks 

Quick Links

Endnote Online (free via Web of Science)

UCC Library does not have an institutional subscription to Endnote. However UCC staff and students can get a free upgraded version of EndNote Online with 2GB of free storage through the Web of Science database.

EndNote comes in two versions:
EndNote Online (free with Web of Science access) and EndNote Desktop (paid software with advanced features). Both help you collect, manage, and cite sources.

Getting started with Endnote Online

1.    Access Web of Science on campus or via the Virtual App (so your IP is recognised)
2.    Create or log into your EndNote Online account via Web of Science.
3.    Your enhanced access lasts 12 months after your last Web of Science login
4.    If it expires, simply log in again through Web of Science to reactivate

Off campus? You can still sign up directly at myendnoteweb.com, but you’ll have limited features.

Endnote Desktop (paid software)

Purchase details: https://endnote.com/buy/

Reference managers like Zotero and EndNote are powerful tools, but they’re not perfect. They’ll help you collect, organise, and format references, but they don’t guarantee accuracy.

You are still responsible for making sure your references are complete, correct, and in the right style. Before you submit your assignment or thesis:

• Check for missing details, e.g. page numbers, volume, issue, DOI
• Watch out for capitalisation errors, especially in article titles
• Make sure styles are consistent – especially if you’ve used more than one tool
• Review in-text citations, confirm they match your bibliography

Want to feel confident in your referencing?
Use a trusted guide like Cite Them Right by Richard Pears, available via UCC Library, for examples and explanations in all major referencing styles.