Skip to Main Content

Cork University Press Collection: Home

Published output of Cork University Press.

About the Collection

The collection comprises the published output of the collection: books, pamphlets and journals. In addition, there are a variety of catalogued produced by Cork University Press advertising its output.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Cork U P.

The collection is open.

About the Press

Cork University Press was founded by Alfred O'Rahilly, then University Registrar, in 1925. In setting up Cork University Press, O'Rahilly was giving expression to his profound conviction that national independence must be reflected in distinctively cultural enterprises, more specifically in the stimulation of Irish learning and the provision of a publishing outlet for the researches of his fellow academics. It is the oldest commercially active university imprint in Ireland. Key early works include Prof. BG MacCarthy Women Writers Vol 1 & 2; Prof. MJ O'Kelly The Collegiate Chapel; K. O'Flaherty Voltaire. Recent key words include the Atlas series: The Atlas of the Irish Revolution and The Atlas of Cork City. The Press publishes under its own imprint and two others: Attic and Atrium.

Collection Highlights

Opening Hours

  • All rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Microform & Reference Reading Room: Wednesday: 11:00-19:15 (Semester Only*).
  • Closed: Weekends, Public Holidays & Christmas Week.

*Excluding January and Easter Recess.

 

For further details see the Library Calendar.

 

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie