Skip to Main Content

Cuala Press Collection: Home

Published output of the Cuala Press.

About the Collection

The collection comprises X Dun Emer books with Cuala Press books ranging from 19XX-1975. The collection was created initially from items that were part of General Collections. 

The collection prefix before the call number is: Cuala Press.

The collection is open.

About the Cuala Press

The Cuala Press was an Irish private press set up in 1908 by Elizabeth Yeats with support from her brother William Butler Yeats. The Cuala Press evolved from the Dun Emer Press which was founded in 1902 by Evelyn Gleeson, Elizabeth Yeats and William Butler Yeats. The Cuala Press (1908-1946) published limited edition works writers including Yeats, Lady Gregory, Colum, Synge and Gogarty.

The Cuala Press played an important role in the Celtic Revival of the early 20th century. It was intended that the new press would produce work by writers associated with the Irish Literary Revival. Cuala Press published 70 titles including 48 by William Butler Yeats.

Cuala Press was unusual in that it was the only Arts and Crafts press to be run and staffed by women and the only one that published new work rather than established classics. After Elizabeth Yeats died in 1940, the work of the press was carried on by two of her long-time assistants, Esther Ryan and Mollie Gill under the management of Mrs. W. B. Yeats.

In 1969 the press was taken up by W. B. Yeats' children, Michael and Anne Yeats, with Liam Miller. Some titles were run in the 1970s.

Collection Highlights

Front cover to 'On the boiler'

Yeats, W.B. On the boiler. Dublin: Cuala Press, 1938.

Front cover to 'Lyrics and satires from Tom Moore'

Limited ed. of 130 copies, of which this is no. 105.

Lyrics and satires from Tom Moore selected by Sean O'Faolain. Dublin: Cuala Press, 1929.

Campeachy Picture in 'A Broadside.'

Cuala Press copy is half leather bound with gold tooled spine and marbled endpapers. It is a limited edition of 300 copies.

A broadside. Dublin: The Cuala Press, 1908-1910.


 

More Information