UCC Library: Economics: Journals and Databases

Journals and E-journals

How to Find a Harvard Business Review

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

Browse Economics journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

The key Economics databases are:

Multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science, Science Direct, and Academic Search Complete (see below) also cover economics.

See the full list of databases available at UCC Library.

For company information, Government and EU and Statistics and data see tabs above.

If you need help using any of these databases please contact your Liaison Librarian at v.conrick@ucc.ie

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
covers all areas of economics including, economic conditions, economic indicators,, economic policy, economic theory, economies, international trade. It also provides access to country reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content, including Marketline Reports. It also contains SWOT analyses.
Business Source Complete does not contain comprehensive company financial reports but it is still a good source of company information.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Index of over 400 economic journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations n all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labour economics, monetary theory, urban economics etc.
Eikon - username & password required - 3 user licence - ALERT: Eikon is transitioning to a newer product called Workspace This link opens in a new window
Eikon is a set of software products to monitor and analyse financial information. It provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools.

Access is available with a username and password – please email libraryresources@ucc.ie

N.B. When finished using the resource, please log out clicking on the Sign Out to the left of the Home link on top left of screen.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary database which provides access to over 200 economics journals
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.