Skip to Main Content

Lynch Collection: Home

Personal collection of Jack Lynch.

About the Collection

The collection comprises books related to the many facets of Jack Lynch's career: Cork sporting legend, early political career, his time as leader of the Fianna Fail political party and as Taoiseach. The collection reflects the rise in tensions in Northern Ireland, Ireland becoming a member of the EU and the country's continuing role in international politics and relations.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Lynch.

The collection is closed.

Provenance

Máirín Lynch generously gifted the Jack Lynch Collection to UCC Library in summer 2005. Additional items were given by Prof. Emeritus Dermont Keogh.

Biographical History

Jack Lynch (1917-1999) was a GAA player and Irish politician. Lynch was born in Shandon and grew up in Blackpool. He attended the North Mon secondary school and moved to Dublin to work with the Dublin District Milk Board before returning to Cork to take up a position in the Circuit Court Office. In 1941 he completed a law degree by night and was called to the bar in 1945. He then set up in private practice as a barrister in Cork.  

He had a successful sporting career as a dual player of Gaelic games. He played hurling with Glen Rovers and with the Cork senior inter-county team from 1936 until 1950. Lynch also played Gaelic football with St. Nicholas and with Cork senior inter-county team from 1936 until 1946. He is widely regarded one of the greatest dual players of all-time. In a senior inter-county career that lasted 14 years he won five All-Ireland titles, seven Munster titles, three National Hurling League titles and seven Railway Cup titles. In the senior inter-county football career that lasted 10 years Lynch won one All-Ireland title, two Munster titles and one Railway Cup titles. 

He was elected to Dáil Eireann for Fianna Fail in 1948. He was Minister for Lands from 1951-1954: Minister for the Gaeltacht in 1957, Minister for Education 1957-1959, Minister for Industry and Commerce 1959-1965 and Minister for Finance 1965-1966. In 1966 he was made Taoiseach and Leader of Fianna Fáil, positions he held until March 1973. In the General Election of 1977 he led Fianna Fail in a landslide victory and again became Taoiseach until 1979 when he stepped down from office. Lynch retired from politics in the 1981 election.  

Following his retirement he became a director on various company boards including Irish Distillers, Smurfit and Hibernian Insurance. He was conferred with the freedom of his own native city of Cork. He continued to speak on political issues and he undertook various travel. Following a stroke in 1993 he withdrew from public life. He died in Dublin in 1999.

Collection Highlights

More Information

Jack Lynch's hurley is in an exhibition case in the Mardyke.