Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

Scan & Deliver Service: Home

Scan & Deliver Service

Scan & Deliver

Scan and deliver is a free electronic document delivery service from UCC Library.

Submit a request here and we'll scan a book chapter or a journal article and deliver it to you electronically.

Click here to make a Request

Please note , you must login with your UCC Credentials

What can be requested from Scan & Deliver?

You can request scans of book chapters and journal articles located in UCC Library’s general print collections and Special Collections. There will be limited access to material from Special Collections. Every effort will be made to fulfil requests but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials.
 

How many requests can I submit?

You may place as many requests as you wish at one time, but the Scan and Deliver service reserves the right to process one request per person per day, depending on staffing and overall request volume.

Who can use the Scan & Deliver Service

The Scan & Deliver service is available to all staff and students of University College Cork free of charge.

How to use this service

Before you submit a request

Please check the UCC Library catalogue to see if the books or journals are available in the library. Check the journals portal for electronic journals, as we may already subscribe to a full text version of the article. If the article isn't available in the library you can use the Inter Library Loan service

Copyright Information

All scans will be compliant with copyright law. This means that whichever is the greater of one chapter or 10% of a book or one article from a journal issue can be provided.  When requesting a scan the requester agrees that by submitting a request they are also agreeing to the conditions in the copyright declaration below: 

  • That the material is required for the purpose of research for a non-commercial purpose or for private study
  • That they have not previously been supplied with a copy of the same material by UCC Library or any other library
  • That they will not use the copy except for research for a non-commercial purpose or private study and will not supply a copy of it, by any means to another person
  • That to the best of their knowledge no one with whom they work or study has made or intends to make, at or about the same time as this request, a request for substantially the same material for substantially the same purpose
  • That only a single paper copy will be retained and the electronic copy will be destroyed if the item is printed
  • That if the declaration is false in a material particular the copy supplied will be an infringing copy and the requester will be liable for the infringement as if they made it themselves.‚Äč

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about  the Scan & Deliver service please contact us at collectionmgt@ucc.ie

New Service -

Scan & Deliver

Scan and deliver is a free electronic document delivery service from UCC Library. Submit a request here and we'll scan a book chapter or a journal article and deliver it to you electronically.

Read More

New Service -

Click & Collect

Request an item from the Library Catalogue.We will organise a time for you to collect the item from the Boole Library.

Read More

New Service -

Special Collections & Archives Appointments

Book an appointment with our Special Collections and Archives Section.

Read More

New Service - Quad Reading Room Reservations

Book a seat for individual study in the Quad Reading Room

Read More