Come up to the desk and ask Library staff or send an email.
Is the book out on loan? - place a hold. (How to reserve a book).
Request an Inter-Library Loan (available to Staff, Postgraduates & 4th Year Undergraduates).
Come across a book you think we should have?
You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase by logging in to your Library Account.
Want to receive an email when new books come in?
Log in to your Library Account and save your search. See instructions for Preferred Searches and Email Alerts.
Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks.
Note:
For help, see:
See also: How do I find a book?
Most of UCC Library's ebooks can be found through the Library Catalogue (by limiting to "online resource". A 'view online' link is provided to the ebook.
Example:
Using a keyword search in the Library Catalogue for pharmacy AND ebook will bring up a list of ebooks available.
Databases which give access to eBook titles include:
This resource offers the complete text of over 270 books in the field of health sciences. For the period to December, 2025, UCC Library also has access to 116 eBooks in the CABI Human & Food Science eBook Collection.
This resource provides full text access to over 1,600 journals in all disciplines published by John Wiley & Sons.
Acoustics in hearing, speech, and language sciences : an introduction by 
Speech science : an integrated approach to theory and clinical practice by 
Professional issues in speech-language pathology and audiology by 
Review of neurology : a workbook for speech & hearing sciences by 
Neurology for the speech-language pathologist by 
Otoacoustic emissions : principles, procedures, and protocols by Databases which give access to eBook titles include:
This resource offers the complete text of over 270 books in the field of health sciences. For the period to December, 2025, UCC Library also has access to 116 eBooks in the CABI Human & Food Science eBook Collection.
This resource provides full text access to over 1,600 journals in all disciplines published by John Wiley & Sons.
Research methodology : a step-by-step guide for beginners by 
Understanding research and evidence-based practice in communication disorders : a primer for students and practitioners by 
Clinical research methods in speech-language pathology and audiology by 
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions by Reference books are books which are in high demand and can not be borrowed. These books can only be used in the Library.
"LIB USE ONLY" will appear on the catalogue under status and books will have stickers on the spine and front cover indicating they are reference material.
Reference books can be found in the lower ground floor (basement) of Brookfield Library.
Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC, also known as Dewey Decimal System) groups books together on similar subjects through call numbers. There are 10 main Dewy Decimal call number classifications.
Call numbers 613 - 999 are on the ground floor of the Library.
Call numbers below 613 (000 - 612) are on the lower ground floor (basement) of the Library.
Books are organised on the shelves by the call number then alphabetically by the first four letters of the author's last name.
