Skip to Main Content

Windle Collection: Home

Items from the collection of Bertram Windle.

About the Collection

The collection comprises 8 items written by Windle, one item signed by the authors and presented to Windle and one item with Windle’s bookplate.

Biographical History

Bertram Coghill Alan Windle, FRS, FSA, KSG (1858-1929) was a British anatomist, administrator and writer. He was born in Staffordshire in England and attended Trinity College Dublin graduating with a BA in 1879. In 1891 he was appointed dean of the medical faculty of Queen's College in Birmingham. In 1904 he became President of Queen’s College, Cork, which in 1908 became University College Cork. He continued as President of UCC until 1918 when he moved to Canada.

More Information

Special Collections, Cadbury Research Library at the University of Birmingham holds Papers Collected by Professor Windle US40 and US73. These papers were assembled by Professor Windle and relate to the foundation of the University of Birmingham. The collection comprises correspondence to and from Windle regarding the establishment of a University in Birmingham together with memoranda, reports, circulars and other printed materials relating to the proposals for the University.

Collection Highlights

Bookplate of Windle

Guili. Camdeni viri clarissimi Britannia, sive, Florentiss. regnorum Angliæ, Scotiæ, Hiberniæ, insularumq. adiacentium, ex intima antiquitate descriptio. / in epitomen contracta a Regnero Vitellio Zirizæo, & tabulis chorographicis illustrata. Amsterdami : Apud Guilielmum Blaeu, 1639.

Bertram Windle's Signature

Windle, Bertram. A handbook of surface anatomy and landmarks. London: Lewis, 1888.

Presentation item from the authors to Windle

Gregory, W.K. and C.L. Camp. Studies in comparative myology and osteology. No. 3. [New York]: [Published by order of the Trustees, American Museum of Natural History], [1918].

Opening Hours

  • All rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Microform & Reference Reading Room: Wednesday: 11:00-19:15 (Semester Only*).
  • Closed: Weekends, Public Holidays & Christmas Week.

*Excluding January and Easter Recess.

 

For further details see the Library Calendar.

 

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie