UCC Library: Zoology: Journals & Databases

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Top 5 Zoology Journals by Impact Factor

Developmental and Comparative Immunology
Impact Factor: 3.620. Developmental and Comparative Immunology (DCI) is an international journal that publishes articles describing original research in all areas of immunology, including comparative aspects of immunity and the evolution and development of the immune system.
Mammal Review
Impact Factor: 4.116. Mammal Review is the official scientific periodical of the Mammal Society, and covers all aspects of mammalian biology and ecology.
HYSTRIX - Italian Journal of Mammalogy
Impact Factor: 4.333.Hystrix, the Italian Journal of Mammalogy is an Open Access, peer reviewed journal that accepts papers in basic and applied mammalogy on living and fossil mammals, with special reference to biology, ecology, systematics, conservation, management and ecology of disease.
Journal of Animal Ecology
Impact Factor: 4.827. A British Ecological Society journal, the Journal of Animal Ecology supports long-term ecological research in a changing world, and publishes the best original research on all the broad aspects of animal ecology.
Wildlife Monographs
Impact Factor: 5.125. Wildlife Monographs supplements The Journal of Wildlife Management with focused investigations in the area of the management and conservation of wildlife.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.

Google Scholar
Searches for articles and other scholarly information.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.

Nature
NPG is a publisher of high impact scientific and medical information in print and online. NPG publishes journals, online databases, and services across the life, physical, chemical and applied sciences and clinical medicine.
Science Direct
Full text of over 1500 journals published by Elsevier Science in all disciplines
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature & quality web sources.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Open Access Multidisciplinary Resources & Search Engines

academicresearch
Microsoft Academic Research is a new web browser built in partnership with the Bing team. Search Engine.
BASE
This academic search engine is operated by Bielfeld University Library. It provides more than 90 million documents from more than 4,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
Bioline
BioLine International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.
CiteSeer X
This is an online academic database that indexes academic journals and citations. It is a one-stop platform from Pennsylvania State University that offers everything related to academic publications such as chapters, conference papers, reports and presentations.
Free FullPDF
The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format.
Genamics JournalSeek
Journal Seek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. Search Engine.
more...less...
Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field.
OSTI
The Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) is the US Department of Energy (DOE) office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored research and development (R&D) results. It also has a link to Science Research Connection (SRC) through the DOE STI Program tab that provides access to approximately 6 million bibliographic records and over half a million full-text documents spanning more than seven decades of DOE research. Requires registration.
more...less...
The information is typically in the form of technical documents, conference papers, articles, multimedia, and software, collectively referred to as scientific and technical information (STI).
PLOS
PLOS is a non-profit publisher, innovator and advocacy organisation. PLOS ONE is the world's first multi-disciplinary open access journal platform featuring reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine.
Re:search
Re:search is a search engine that provides broader, deeper research with no clutter, no ads, and absolute privacy.
Scielo
SciELO is a bibliographic database providing open access to over 900 journals from various developing countries including Brazil.
Science
Science is the gateway to US Federal Science. Search Engine.
scienceopen
A search engine for natural and physical sciences and other disciplines. It is integrated with ORCID for overlay and peer review services.
worldwidescience
A global Science gateway composed of national and international scientific databases and portals.