Skip to main content

Accessing other Libraries: Undergraduate

A guide for UCC Staff and Students on gaining access to other libraries.

Undergraduate UCC Student

Postgraduate diploma students and Undergraduates do not have an entitlement to use other institution’s libraries and do not qualify under the various reciprocal schemes that exist.

If you wish to visit another library during the academic year you will have to apply to the Library & IT Desk for a Letter of Introduction. Please check the website of the library that you wish to visit for Opening Hours and local regulations.

Students of UCC may also avail of:

  • CorkPAL which is an access scheme between participating libraries in the Cork region.
  • MusicPAL facilitates access to music information and materials available across a broad range of libraries and archives throughout the island of Ireland.

Cork PAL

CorkPAL is a Cork regional reciprocal library access scheme.

It is co-operative venture between libraries in higher education, health, and the public library service in the Cork region. It provides free access to the collective library resources of Cork City and County.

The CorkPAL Access Card tells the staff at the library you are visiting that you are a genuine learner and that your special requirements for knowledge and information cannot be dealt with by your own library.

Your level of access will be determined by the library you are visiting. At a minimum you will be allowed to consult printed materials. Internet and electronic resources cannot normally be used in academic libraries unless you are a student of that organization, due to licence agreements.

Participating Libraries:

  • Cork City
  • Cork County Library & Arts Service
  • Cork City and County Archives
  • Mercy University Hospital
  • Cork University Hospital
  • South Infirmary-Victoria University Hospital
  • University College Cork
  • Cork Institute of Technology

Staff and Students of UCC wishing to avail of this scheme should contact the Library & IT Desk, Q Floor, Boole Library.

Members of other participating libraries wishing to gain access to the UCC Library should contact their home library for details of this scheme.

Music PAL

MusicPAL facilitates access to music information and materials available across a broad range of libraries and archives throughout the island of Ireland. Member libraries work collaboratively to provide easy access to the wealth of music resources held in their collections. UCC Library is a participant.

Further details about the scheme are available on the Music PAL website. 
This includes a list of participating libraries.

If UCC students, researchers or staff would like to access any of the participating libraries, they can apply for a Music PAL card at the Library & IT Desk, Q Floor,  Boole Library.

Most Music PAL collections are now listed on the RASCAL database (Research And Special Collections Available Locally). This database will be the key resource discovery tool for music collections.

Further queries can be addressed to UCC Library’s Music PAL Coordinator: 
Claire O’Brien,  claire.obrien@ucc.ie, tel. +353-21- 490-2984