English: Free Web Sources

JSTOR Daily provides context for current events using scholarship found in JSTOR, a digital library of academic journals, books, and other material. They publish articles grounded in peer-reviewed research and provide free access to that research for all of their readers.

This exhibition celebrates the rich collection of Romantic-period literary treasures from the Library of Trinity College Dublin. Here we explore the socio-political and cultural exchanges between and across Romantic Ireland and England through hand-coloured political cartoons, unique manuscripts by Wordsworth’s contemporaries and Irish friends, first or early editions of poetry and prose, and illustrations from rare nineteenth-century travel books. Curated by Dr Brandon Yen (UCC) & Dr Amy Prendergast (TCD)

National digital repository for Ireland’s humanities, social sciences, and cultural heritage data. You can browse and search across multiple collections from some of the finest Irish institutions.

Provides access to 51m+ artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

The World Digital Library is a cooperative project of the Library of Congress, UNESCO, and partner libraries, archives, and educational and cultural institutions from around the world. It brings together on a single website rare and unique documents – books, journals, manuscripts, maps, prints and photographs, films, and sound recordings – that tell the story of the world’s cultures. The WDL interface operates in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. The actual documents on the site are presented in their original languages.

Search across descriptions of archives, including links to digital content, held at over 300 institutions across the UK.

the national library of the UK. Including books, newspapers, sound recordings, patents, prints and drawings, maps and manuscripts.

Search over 100 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.

quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

This portal will link you to archival collections throughout the island of Ireland. Archives are the documents and records that relate to people, places, organisations, and events.

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

The mission of the Library is to collect, preserve, promote and make accessible the documentary and intellectual record of the life of Ireland and to contribute to the provision of access to the larger universe of recorded knowledge.

Includes information on research projects and publications, as well as linking to the RIA Library catalogue.

connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

Corpus of Electronic Texts. A searchable online textbase consisting of over 18 million words, in 1617 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts. From UCC

designed to meet the challenges particular to research and teaching in contemporary writing, including the relative lack of resources and critical commentaries, the difficulty of access to some source material, especially for international readers, and the difficulty and challenges in adjudicating the quality and nature of source materials.

critical online research resource on Irish writer Frank O’Connor. The site serves as a high-standard source for primary and secondary material for academics and students. It also provides information on current UCC research projects on O’Connor. UCC is in the fortunate position of having a substantial and important Frank O’Connor Archive and the website details the archival collection, while also profiling correlating UCC Library collections.

3 searchable databases: Irish Film & TV Index; Irish Film & TV Biographies; and Irish Film & TV Bibliography; & the Irish PG Film Research Seminar. Based in the School of Drama, Film & Music, TCD.

Produced by UCD, The Irish Poetry Reading Collection, which forms part of the Irish Poetry Reading Archive, is a central repository for readings by Irish poets, in both the English and the Irish language. This collection aims to capture and preserve the rich and diverse landscape of poetry in Ireland, and includes the voices of: established poets; emerging poets; performance poets; avant-garde poets; English and Irish language poets; and Irish diaspora poets. Many of the readings are accompanied by handwritten or typed transcriptions of the poem, created by the poet especially for the reading.

aims to make available reliable versions of the original texts of medieval Irish sagas with parallel translations into Modern Irish and English.

Digital multimedia edition from UCD

The James Joyce Cultural Centre, situated in a stunning Georgian townhouse, offers the visitor historical and biographical information about James Joyce and his influence in literature.

a collaboration between the National Library of Ireland and University College Dublin.

(Ionad Litríochta an Deiscirt) is a non-profit arts organisation dedicated to the promotion and celebration of literature, especially that of Munster.

A blog by Chris Murray with an index of irish women poets, essays and useful links.

from BBC Arts. A film by Bob Geldof, featuring readings by Liam Neeson, Bill Nighy, Sting, Dominic West, Damian Lewis, Noel Gallagher, Colin Farrell, Bono, Stephen Fry and Richard E. Grant.

From UCD, a five-year (2016-2021) comparative study of the literary outputs and mediating institutions produced by British settlers, indigenous populations, and mixed-race peoples in the British-controlled Southern Hemisphere and Straits Settlements from 1780-1870.

from Warwick University. Bibliographical database of Irish women writers, who wrote in both Irish and English, between 1800 and 2005.

FMRSI is intended to act as a resource for teachers, researchers and students of early and Early Modern literature, language, history, and culture.

from Fordham University. Organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary indices.
- Selected Sources: main entry to the resources.
- Full Text Sources: Full texts of medieval sources arranged according to type.
- Saints' Lives: Devoted to Ancient, Medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.

(Georgetown University) - provides links to useful resources, including collections of manuscripts

Directory of medieval related content, Check out the Facebook page.

a starting point for those interested in Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century, Restoration & 18th Century Literature

Search or browse collections of manuscripts from the Bodleian Library

From the Paul J. Getty Museum, this explores the materials and techniques used to create the lavishly illuminated manuscripts produced in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

Introduction to medieval writing and the study of palaeography by Dianne Tillotson, a freelance medievalist.

Covers the function, structure and production of books in medieval times

A number of digital projects including
• The Camelot Project - A collection of Arthurian texts, images, interviews, and basic information
• TEAMS Middle English Texts - Online full text of Middle English works, with glosses and notes
• Visualizing Chaucer - Visualizing Chaucer documents through a bibliography and numerous images the history of illustrations of Chaucer’s works.

The best resources the author has found on the Internet, along with some books and other resources with related information about Anglo-Saxon and Medieval studies, the language of Beowulf, Sir Robert Cotton, Sutton Hoo.

The Harry Ransom Center (University of Texas at Austin) is an internationally renowned humanities research library and museum. Its extensive holdings provide a unique record of the creative process of writers and artists, deepening our understanding of literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts.

This is an updated list of sites that offer free public domain books in electronic and audio format. Every year new publications enter public domain. That means their intellectual property rights have expired or are not applicable any longer. The content of these works becomes available for public use. Anyone is free to use it – but also to reuse it, for instance publish a new edition. Therefore you may find in major ebookstores (Kindle, Nook, Kobo, iBook Store, or Google Play Books) public domain books that are not free.My advice is that if you want to get an ebook version of a classic novel like Pride and Prejudice, you should first check out the sites listed on this website. [advice from the website]

Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free high quality ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. Most Project Gutenberg ebooks were previously published by bona fide publishers.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world

Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community

The site is a project of the Internet Archive and is intended to create “one web page for every book ever published”.
There are over 1,000,000 free ebook titles available. Most of the titles are public domain, but you can also find here a growing lending library of over 200,000 contemporary ebooks.

Browse several categories, search for subjects, authors, titles, etc, see full-screen, zoomable images of book covers, download XML versions, and read all of the over 6,000 books in the collection with comfortable reader views.

From MIT. The Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare.

As a group, these manuscripts comprise the largest and most important single extant archive of material on the professional theatre and dramatic performance in early modern England, the age of Shakespeare, Marlowe, Jonson, Middleton, Heywood, Dekker, Chettle, and so many of their contemporaries and colleagues.

This authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings is international in scope, is regularly updated and currently holds over 8,750 records dating from the 1890s to the present day

from the University of Victoria. Publishes high quality materials on Shakespeare's works, his plays in performance and his life and times.

Transcribe handwritten documents by Shakespeare’s contemporaries and help us understand his life and times. Along the way you’ll find words that have yet to be recorded in the authoritative Oxford English Dictionary, and which will eventually be added to this important resource.

An academic blog of early modern events and research in Ireland

From University of Oxford. An online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video

Holes is a digital poem which presents a new approach to autobiographical writing. It is a ten syllable one line per day poem which offers something less and something more than a window on the author’s life. Composition of Holes began on December 23rd, 2006. Holes is a poetic vehicle for the exploration of chance, meaning, juxtaposition and language.juxtaposition and language. Graham Allen is Professor of Literature in UCC.

The Miami University Archive of writing in performance.(Includes material from Cork's Sound Eye Festival).

Designed for someone who knows nothing or little, but wants to explore what exciting, innovative experimental poetry is happening in the UK.

From University of Pennsylvania, PennSound is an ongoing project, committed to producing new audio recordings and preserving existing audio archives.

The Poetry Archive is a not-for-profit organisation that makes and acquires recordings of poets from around the English-speaking world and makes substantial excerpts from them freely available online. Funded by Arts Council England, as well as a number of charitable trusts and foundations.

founded at San Francisco State College (now SFSU) in 1954 by English professor Ruth Witt-Diamant, has been recording and archiving tapes of its public events for nearly six decades. We have compiled and maintained one of the most significant public collections in the USA of original recorded performances by poets and related writers reading their work.

The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.

Poetry Ireland is committed to achieving excellence in the reading, writing and performance of poetry throughout the island of Ireland. It receives support from The Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon and The Arts Council of Northern Ireland and enjoys rewarding partnerships with arts centres, festivals, schools, colleges and bookshops at home and abroad.

Academy of American poets. Includes text, audio & video.

Arts & Humanities Research Council (UK)

British Association for Romantic Studies (UK) - national organisation for promoting the study of Romanticism and the history and culture of the period from which it emerged.

From Romantic poetry to Gothic horror, from depictions of poverty and industrialisation to portrayals of the middle classes, and from crime fiction to fin de siècle decadence: the literary works of the Romantic and Victorian periods, and the contexts in which they were written, offer a wealth of topics to explore.

From Beowulf to the Brontës, from Shakespeare quartos to Wendy Cope’s emails, the collections offer an unparalleled resource for the study of English literature and British theatre. They cover a range of formats including archives and manuscripts, printed books and sound recordings.

an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. University of Oxford & JISC

from Harvard University.

Provides the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers.

This site continues the mission of the late Valerie Eliot: to bring her husband’s life and work to as wide an audience as possible. T. S. Eliot excelled not only as a poet, but also as a dramatist, critic, editor and publisher.

Works cited: a quick guide.

from Bibme (citation tool). Everything you need to know about MLA format is in this guide. Brush up on MLA basics and break down citations for multiple source types each with a real-life citation example to help you learn.

From Bibme: An annotated bibliography includes three items: an introduction, citations for each source, and a brief write-up of each source. These write-ups are the actual annotations.

via Bibme. (This sample annotated bibliography is courtesy of Prof. Robert Mugford, Scottsdale Community College, Scottsdale AZ. http://www.scottsdalecc.edu/mugford/bib.htm)