UCC Library: English: Books & eBooks

Books for English at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. English literature books are in the 800- 820s. The majority are held on the Q+3 floor. Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.

You can search the catalogue here:

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and log in to your Library Account.

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

More information here

eBooks

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

Or browse by subject:

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook, example:

It is also possible to search eBook databases. eBook databases relevant for English include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This resource is an online collection of over 6,109 books of high quality in the Humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. HEB was launched in September 2002.
African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose from Heinemann's African Writers Series, which published the key texts of modern African literature for over 40 years.
Coverage: 1946-2003
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO is a research collection of titles from 1470-1700, with over 146,000 titles, including original page images.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Online runs from the 8th Century to the 21st Century and includes 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose, as well as articles from over 430 journals.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to Greek and Latin literature with accurate, literate, English translations.
William Shakespeare - OSEO This link opens in a new window
Full text access is available to all of Shakespeare’s plays within Oxford Scholarly Editions Online, in addition to 20 titles in the Early 17th Century Drama series.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
This resource is an electronic full-text collection of early women’s writing, including renaissance women writers, covering a period from 1526 – 1850.

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
An authoritative reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. It tells the island’s life story through the biographies, at home and overseas, of prominent men and women born in Ireland, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Open Access from 2021
Dictionary of Old English: A to Le This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language.
Dictionary of Old English: Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
The resource is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature
Written by a team of more than 150 contributors working under the direction of Dinah Birch, and ranging in influence from Homer to the Mahabharata, this guide provides the reader with a comprehensive coverage of all aspects of English literature.
he Oxford Handbook of English literature and theology
defining volume of essays in which leading international scholars apply an interdisciplinary approach to the long and evolving relationship between English Literature and Theology.

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections: Important collections of rare & older material. Collections with useful material for English Studies:

Book history & design: Friedlander Collection, Cuala, Dolmen and Three Candles Presses
Anglo-Irish Literature: Corkery, Goldberg, O'Connor
16th - 19th century: Older Printed Books

The Archives Service: Collections with interesting material for English Studies include:

Cuala Press Collection
Frank O’Connor (Agents)
Correspondence with Frank O’Connor and Seán O’Faolain
George Bernard Shaw Collection
William Trevor Collection

Do check the full list of archival collections held by UCC Library