Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quick Links to other useful Guides
searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including: OneSearch
Open Access resources
Information on how to use OneSearch
Special Collections in UCC Library
Important collections of rare & older material. Collections with useful material for English Studies:
- Book history & design:& Friedlander Collection, Cuala, Dolmen and Three Candles Presses
- Frank O’Connor: his personal collection and a reference collection of his published works. Related material includes Nancy McCarthy’s collection
- Anglo-Irish Literature and Culture: Daniel Corkery, Gerald Goldberg and Nancy McCarthy
- 16th - 19th century: Older Printed Books
For further information on English holdings in Special Collections see here
See also the Special Collections Guide
Modern Languages Association (MLA)
MLA Style Center
Works cited: a quick guide.
Complete Guide to MLA format
from Bibme (citation tool). Everything you need to know about MLA format is in this guide. Brush up on MLA basics and break down citations for multiple source types each with a real-life citation example to help you learn.
Annotated Bibliography in MLA
From Bibme: An annotated bibliography includes three items: an introduction, citations for each source, and a brief write-up of each source. These write-ups are the actual annotations.
Annotated Bibliography examples
via Bibme. (This sample annotated bibliography is courtesy of Prof. Robert Mugford, Scottsdale Community College, Scottsdale AZ. http://www.scottsdalecc.edu/mugford/bib.htm)
MLA Handbook (8th Edition) by
Publication Date: 2016
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.