Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Daniel O'Connell Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/PP/DOC
Title:                            Daniel O'Connell Collection
Dates:                           1816 - 1968
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          4 items
 
Administrative History:

IE BL/PP/DOC is Daniel O’Connell material held in UCC Library. These archives were donated to UCC in 1997 by Prof. Seán Ó Coileán, Roinn na Nua-Gaeilge, UCC.

Biographical History: Daniel O’Connell was born in Cahirciveen, Co. Kerry, in 1775 to a Roman Catholic family. He was a barrister and MP (Member of Parliament), becoming involved in politics in the first half of the nineteenth century. He campaigned for “Catholic Emancipation” the right for Catholics to sit in the Westminster Parliament, denied for over 100 years - and the “Repeal of the Union” between Ireland and Great Britain. He became known as the Liberator or the Emancipator. He led a full life, and died in Rome in 1847.

Content: 

The original letter is from Daniel O’Connell to his son Maurice, at Clongowes College, Clane, Co. Kildare. The 1968 material is two pieces of correspondence between Professor Maurice R. O’Connell and Professor John V. Kelleher discussing the earlier letter’s provenance.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item descriptions (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

  Excerpt from a letter from O'Connell to Maurice (his son)