Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Éamon de Valera Photograph Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/P/EdV
Title:                            Éamon de Valera Photograph Collection
Dates:                           15 July 1947
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          1 item
 
Administrative History:
IE BL/P/EdV is the Éamon de Valera Photograph Collection held in UCC Library. This item was previously in the possession of Micheál Cranitch (1912-1999) of Rathduff, Co. Cork. He was a National School Teacher, member of the Seanad and served as Cathaoirleach from January to June 1973. He also was a sportsman, musician and had a keen interest in the Irish language. This item was donated to UCC Library in 2016 by Peadar Cranitch (son of Micheál Cranitch).
 
Biographical History:
Éamon de Valera (14 October 1882 – 29 August 1975) was a prominent statesman and political leader in 20th-century Ireland. He served several terms as head of government and head of state, and had a leading role in introducing the Constitution of Ireland. 

Content: 

This collection is a B&W photograph of the official visit by the Taoiseach, Mr. Éamon de Valera, to Kilronan pier, Inishmore, Co. Galway, in 1947.  

In July 1947, Éamon de Valera, the Taoiseach (the Irish word for “Prime Minister”) made an official visit to several islands off the West coast of Ireland.  He travelled up the West coast from Cobh, Co. Cork on board a corvette named “Macha” of the Irish Navy.  The islands which he visited included the Blaskets, Aran Islands, Inishboffin and Tory Island.

Access & Use

Access: Apply via online Request Form during the opening times of Special Collections and Archives

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

Part of the photo of An Taoiseach, Éamon de Valera on his visit to Kilronan pier, Inishmore, Co. Galway (IE BL/P/EdV/1)