Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Elizabeth Friedlander Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:              IE BL/VC/EF
Title:                             Elizabeth Friedlander Collection 
Dates:                             1920s - 1980s
Level of description:     Item
Extent:                           12 boxes
 
Administrative History:
The Elizabeth Friedlander Collection was acquired by UCC Library in 2005.  
 
Biographical History:
Born Elisabeth Betty Friedländer on the 10th October 1903 in Berlin-Charlottenburg, to German- Jewish parents, Friedlander began her foray into the world of graphic design by studying art at the Berlin Academy, specialising in typography and calligraphy, under Emil Rudolf Weiss. She then worked for the Jewish publishing house of Ullstein Verlag, Berlin, designing headings for its fashion journal Die Dame.

In 1927-8 Friedlander was invited to design a typeface for the Bauer Typefoundry; which was completed in 1938. Normal practice would have named the typeface by the designer’s surname, but ‘Friedländer’ was considered too Jewish for the time and it was instead issued as ‘Elizabeth’.

October 1936: because of the Nazi regulations she moved to Milan and worked for the publisher Mondadori (1936-8) and for Editoriale Domus (from February 1937). She also designed bookjackets and publicity materials. February 1939: unsuccessful in her attempts to emigrate to the USA, she arrived in London with a Domestic Service permit (obtained through the Society of Friends Emergency Committee) which allowed her to work as a maid. With the help of Francis Meynell she secured work at the advertising agency Mather & Crowther, later also working in ‘black propaganda’ for the Political Intelligence Department, Central Office of Information. She decided to remain in the UK after the war was over, foregoing her previous plans to emigrate to the United States. She worked freelance for publishers, and designed over 20 patterned papers for the Curwen Press. In June 1948 Friedlander was commissioned by Jan Tschichold, the new art director at Penguin Books, to do some title lettering and, most significantly, to design patterned papers for covers of the Penguin Music Scores (issued 1949-61; EF’s covers: early 1950s) and Penguin Poets. During the following decade she drew roundels for the Penguin Classics series (her later Penguin work was commissioned by Hans Schmoller), worked for the Folio Society, and lettered presentation scrolls and rolls of honor. From 1951 she was the calligrapher to the Royal Military College, Sandhurst, lettering Rolls of honor. Her ornamental borders were issued by Linotype (1952) and Monotype (‘The Friedlander borders’, 1958). 

In 1961 Friedlander moved to Kinsale, Ireland, from where she continued to design bookplates, bookjackets, catalogues, and calligraphic maps, as well as lettering Irish proverbs on parchment. She died there in 1984.

Content:

The Elizabeth Friedlander Archival Collection contains the working papers of a graphic designer famed for her intricate boarder designs, and her custom designed font 'Elizabeth'.

Access & Use

Email:  specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie All queries regarding the collection can be directed to the archivist in charge of the collection, Emma Horgan.

Finding Aid: Collection list (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: In the main with UCC Library, but please contact us for any reprographic requests you may have.

Collection Image

     'Elizabeth' font